Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Easy and fast to whip up! Really tasty but not spicy enough for us ( and I used hot curry). - We sprinkled hot sauce on it and it was delicious. Followed the suggestions to use cauliflower and coconut milk. I will definitely make this again but turn up the heat!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
My husband liked this, but found this too carby as we had this over rice with naan (potatoes, rice, bread). You could serve it without rice or naan, but it won't taste the same. At any rate, I discovered I still hate chickpeas, so I can't really rate it honestly, but am giving it a 4 based on DH's eating all the leftovers voluntarily - even though there was no naan left. Thanks for sharing! (P.S. I used a can of crushed tomatoes - 15 oz, and fat free plain yogurt, non-Greek.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe, it looked like it was going to be so terrific! Unfortunately it really just tasted like condensed tomato soup to us. I think we need to cultivate our condensed tomato soup tastebuds before I'll attempt this again. Thank you all the same though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Oh my gosh!!! This is amazing!!! I sub-ed plain greek yogurt in for the sour cream recommended by others to make it creamy, and added 1 can of diced tomatoes in addition to the can of soup. Perfect spice level for me but my partner will need to add as he like XXX hot. I also used baby red potatoes in lieu of regular white potatoes, and a red onion for the yellow...simply based on what I had available. SOOOOOOO yummy! I’d give 6 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I loved this recipe. I used some frozen Christmas turkey in place of potato and opted to use cream this time as I was feeling indulgent. In the future, I'd probably use coconut milk or non-fat plain yogurt but the cream was absolutely delicious. Might try it with cauliflower next time, although the turkey made for a nice main dish. Easy preparation and clean-up, easy to adapt to suit your taste. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I was cleaning out my cupboard and found a lot of chickpeas. I tried this recipe only because I had all the ingredients already (I made a substitute for the garam masala with ingredients I had). I had no idea such an easy recipe could be SO DELICIOUS!!! I love Indian cuisine, but never really tried to make it myself. If I had known this fantastic curry recipe was so good, I would have been making it for years!! In a word - WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was pretty good. I didn't have chickpeas, so I steamed some cauliflower and carrots and threw those in. I substituted sweet potatoes for regular. I also used 1 cup of plain yogurt instead of the cream, as recommended by another user. I will say, for my kiddos, the 2 teaspoons of Curry was a bit much. I liked it myself, but will probably cut it back to 1 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Only gave this four stars because I made quite a few changes to the original recipe. Substituted coconut milk for the milk and used probably about a cup's worth. Only used half a can of the tomato soup and added a can of diced tomatoes. Also used 2 large potatoes instead of 4 and included some leftover cauliflower. Very versatile recipe and could use many different types of vegetables if wanted. Would like to try adding some pineapple chunks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I thought this was very tasty. I only made minor changes (i.e. red potatoes, white onion, 1/2 can coconut milk, and fresh ginger) and it came out very well. My only suggestion would be to boil your own chickpeas instead of buying a can. Boiling them yourself tastes better anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leymah
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
It was too thick, too creamy, and too bland. It was definitely lacking in spices. I doubled the garam masala, curry, and cumin to make it edible. Did not double the ginger. I will not make this recipe again and will create my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States