Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very good recipe. I wanted to educate my father's tastebuds to appreciate curry so I tried this recipe. He REALLY liked it so it is now a family favourite! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E-gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I love this dish! I love Indian spices that are brought together in a creamy mild dish and that is what this recipe delivers. I did use only half measured amounts of the spices (but use 3/4 of curry and 1 tsp salt), heavy whipping cream, half a med onion and tomato bisque condensed soup. My husband was so impressed! I can't wait to eat the leftover tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I really enjoyed this curry! I used one piece of chicken to replace one of the potatoes and increased the spices a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Very good basic curry recipe. I used canned tomatoes in chunks instead of tomato soup and yogurt instead of milk to make a thicker sauce. It made a lot, but everyone loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is such a great, easy recipe! It tastes delicious and it only took me half an hour to make. Even when I make enough for leftovers, my family and I eat the entire pan of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Easy and versatile. My masala spice went missing and I was able to make up a batch out of other spices I had, I added a block of frozen spinach to the recipe, and used stewed tomatos and tomato paste, and a sprinkling of sugar since I wasn't using the soup which would have had sugar in it, and nearly tripled the whole thing for plenty of leftovers. I had brown rice for me and white rice for the family. Served it with grilled chicken legs. Maybe next time I'll throw some chicken right into the curry. You really could do anything with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Awesome, awesome, awesome! I will be making this again. I was a little skeptical about the can of tomato soup, but with the spices added to it, it made a nice creamy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I was surprised to realize I've been using this recipe, with assorted variations, for a couple of years now, so I figured I'd put my two cents in about how good and versatile it is. I've made it exactly as written, added things like peas, cauliflower, chicken and shrimp, subbed crushed tomatoes and/or coconut milk, and it always comes out great. I neither know nor care whether it's authentic; what matters is, it's a good, filling, inexpensive, delicious meal that refrigerates and freezes well so I can enjoy it for days on end. WIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have tried multiple curry seasoning types in an attempt to make a good Indian vegetable curry. This is the best I have tried. I will definitely make this again. I used all spices an sauce ingredients as listed, but added a variety of vegetables that I just happened to have on hand. It is an excellent building block recipe to be used with any vegetables you prefer. Thanks very much for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is more like a masala than a curry, I think, but it was delicious! I subbed 8 oz. tomato sauce for the cond. soup, and coconut milk for the cream. Not too spicy, so the kids could handle it. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States