Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was just ok for me. I added fresh grated ginger and some frozen peas for color. Next time I'll use paneer or cauliflower in place of the potatoes as they just didn't add much to the dish but made up so much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe. I had no garam masala, so I made a substitute with cumin, paprika, curry powder, crushed cloves and crushed bay leaves from a recipe that that I found online. I served the dish on a bed of basmati rice. Delicious! A little spicy, just the way I like it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ParadiseBill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I did it just like the recipe except using 3 roma tomatos instead of tomato soup. I also added more salt and tumeric. Good proportions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priti Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kosherqueen
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Great recipe!!!made it for myself tonight and I was able to freeZe a lot for another day. I added garlic oil and frozen peas, cauliflower. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the soup and used some plain yogurt instead of milk/cream per other reviews. It was quick and made a nice dish. Next time I would try cauliflower per suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I used one good sized potato and would not want more of it here. I threw in a handful of multi-colored peppers during the onion saute, adding the garlic at the very end for a short while. For the tomatoes, I added a can (not drained) of fire-roasted tomatoes. Also added 2+ tsp of curry powder, as others did. I like spicy so added a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and it was PLENTY spicy for me. Had no garam masala, and just realized I forgot to add the cumin. A nice, tasty dish, one I'm sure to make again. Thanks for the recipe, Sushi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
i LOVE THIS. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Followed the recipe to the letter. Would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Very good made as stated ...would peel the potatoes next time though or use a Yukon golden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I tried this last night. Wow is all I can say. The simplicity and explosion of taste without meat was worth the venture into unknown territory. I made two substitutions: I used tomato juice instead of soup concentrate, and 1 good tablespoon of cream cheese. Great recipe!- Louis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States