Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was great! And so easy to make. I added some yellow bell peppers chopped up for more vegetables. If you like butter chicken, this is an excellent vegetarian substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This is a really tasty recipe. Cauliflower is a good substitute for the potatoes, and really cuts the cooking time. Added zucchini for some green. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I absolutely love the base of potatoes and chickpeas of this curry. I am in Japan and my local supermarket didn't have a some of the ingredients, so I decided to give it an exotic kick. I replaced all the spices with 2 tablespoons of Thai green curry paste, the cream or milk with coconut milk, and the tomato soup with a can of diced tomatoes. It was really excellent. Next time I'm going to try a couple tablespoons of Thai yellow curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Excellent flavor and very easy to make. Next time I will add some cauliflower, as others suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
hey, this was great! i used 10.5oz organic cream of tomato soup + 2 tbs lowfat sour cream instead of condensed soup+heavy cream. very amenable to add-inns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
update on old review: made recipe exactly as stated except substituted potato for double chickpeas and I loved the creamy flavor the tomato soup added and the fact that it didn't take so long to cook potatoes to put in. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scratch
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This is absolutely the best Chickpea curry I’ve ever tried outside of India!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Very yummy and very simple. A great dish for vegetarians. I added more cream as I like a lot of sauce and 1 tsp of dark sugar to add a bit of sweetness. Excellent and very quick and easy. Great for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
My husband rated this one a "5!" I admit I was wary at first of an authentic tasting Indian recipe using a can of tomato soup, but this really was very good. When sauteeing the onion I added a sliced green pepper to it for some color and crunch. I served this over white rice with homemade naan on the side. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I bought cauliflower to add (as recommended by another reviewer) and it's a good thing I did, because it turned out I didn't have a can of chickpeas in the cupboard like I'd thought! I also ended up using a can of stewed tomatoes instead of the tomato soup. But even without the chickpeas, the curry was fantastic. There's a bit of a kick but it's not too spicy, and the flavor is surprisingly complex. I really enjoyed this dish and will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States