Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was great! And so easy to make. I added some yellow bell peppers chopped up for more vegetables. If you like butter chicken, this is an excellent vegetarian substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This is a really tasty recipe. Cauliflower is a good substitute for the potatoes, and really cuts the cooking time. Added zucchini for some green. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I absolutely love the base of potatoes and chickpeas of this curry. I am in Japan and my local supermarket didn't have a some of the ingredients, so I decided to give it an exotic kick. I replaced all the spices with 2 tablespoons of Thai green curry paste, the cream or milk with coconut milk, and the tomato soup with a can of diced tomatoes. It was really excellent. Next time I'm going to try a couple tablespoons of Thai yellow curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Excellent flavor and very easy to make. Next time I will add some cauliflower, as others suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
hey, this was great! i used 10.5oz organic cream of tomato soup + 2 tbs lowfat sour cream instead of condensed soup+heavy cream. very amenable to add-inns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
update on old review: made recipe exactly as stated except substituted potato for double chickpeas and I loved the creamy flavor the tomato soup added and the fact that it didn't take so long to cook potatoes to put in. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scratch
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This is absolutely the best Chickpea curry I’ve ever tried outside of India!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Very yummy and very simple. A great dish for vegetarians. I added more cream as I like a lot of sauce and 1 tsp of dark sugar to add a bit of sweetness. Excellent and very quick and easy. Great for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
My husband rated this one a "5!" I admit I was wary at first of an authentic tasting Indian recipe using a can of tomato soup, but this really was very good. When sauteeing the onion I added a sliced green pepper to it for some color and crunch. I served this over white rice with homemade naan on the side. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I bought cauliflower to add (as recommended by another reviewer) and it's a good thing I did, because it turned out I didn't have a can of chickpeas in the cupboard like I'd thought! I also ended up using a can of stewed tomatoes instead of the tomato soup. But even without the chickpeas, the curry was fantastic. There's a bit of a kick but it's not too spicy, and the flavor is surprisingly complex. I really enjoyed this dish and will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States