Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was delicious, easy, and very quick to prepare! I found that the cook time was only 20 minutes rather than the 40 minutes listed. The only changes I made (which made the recipe GFCF) were to double the garlic, cut the garam masala in half to 1 tsp. (it was fairly spicy with 2 tsp.), use a can of diced tomatoes with the juice instead of condensed tomato soup, and use almond milk instead of cream. I served it over brown rice, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was delicious! I did add cauliflower and sweet potatoes as well as a handful of chopped spinach which made it look and taste wonderful. I also used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and about half a can of low-fat coconut milk instead of the soup. Will make this again. My guests (family) asked if they could take the leftovers home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Instead of the soup, use one small (6 oz.) can of tomato paste. Add it to your boiled potato water. Adjust seasonings as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Perfect for our Meatless Mondays. I substituted a can of coconut milk for the milk, substituted drained diced tomatoes for the tomato soup and upped the curry powder to 1Tbl. I also added 1 Tbl. honey and garnished with cilantro. Seved with rice it makes a very substantial meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This recipe was simply amazing. I used black quinoa instead of rice, and it turned out amazing. I also used fresh instead of dry ginger, and added 2 tsp of chili flakes and Thai red curry paste. To add a little variety, I used 2 potatoes, a sweet potato and two carrots instead of the four potatoes. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Just finished preparing this for supper and the house smells marvellous! It tastes just wonderful as well and I followed the recipe exactly as stated. This is a definite repeat!!! Thanks for this wonderful Indian recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Loved it! Very easy vegetarian meal. Even my meat-lover husband loved it. Eat with yummy naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erina93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe to a tee and this was delicious! Note: I used milk. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veron123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
While this recipe was very easy to make, I found the end result to be kind of bland. I think it could benefit from an additonal ingredient that's more flavorful than potatoes and chickpeas. Maybe peas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
It was really yum, I was surprised! Went well with rice and prawn balchao (a goan prawn pickle)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 71-80 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States