Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very good, good flavor. Spicy but not hot. The only things I did different was that I used dried chickpeas that I had slow cooked for 2 hours with a few cloves of garlic tossed in the cooking water instead of using canned beans. I also used a can of drained diced tomatoes instead of the soup. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I love this recipe. For a dairy free recipe --instead of cream or milk I use coconut milk and instead of condensed tomato soup I use regular tomato soup. super delicious. I also substituted grilled sweet potatoes for the potatoes..made it twice in the slow cooker and both times was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I've cooked a great deal of Indian dishes and this one is quick, easy and tasty. Based on previous experience (and preference) I subbed the condensed soup for diced tomatoes, used coconut milk as I had it on hand and fresh ginger. I doubled the recipe with no problems. My Mother / Father inlaw and 2 year old twin boys all ate it - no problem with heat (and my Mother inlaw is quite sensitive to heat, which is why I chose this recipe as no chilies are required). For those who like a little heat, add some green chilies and for those looking to add extra veggies, cauliflower, zucchini, spinach & sweet potatoes all work well in this dish. We serve over basmati rice and serve with naan bread. Will add this to my Indian recipe repertoire. Enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was delicious, so filling and healthy! I used a suggestion from previous comments to replace the cream with yogurt and doubled the chickpeas, but left everything else the same. This got a great reception at my place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Very happy with this recipe. As others have suggested, i substituted the tomato soup with crushed tomatoes and about 1 tsp of tomato paste, half of the potatoes with coliflower, cream with yoghurt, and vegetable oil with clarified butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Wonderful new flavors for us, my husband loves it. Amazed at the amount of spices used and how well they blend together...going to try a full traditional meal next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Flavor combination was very good with the spices. I added sweet potato and cauliflower like other reviews recommended, but the texture of chickpeas out of the can were a little too hard, I maybe should've cooked them longer so they were softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was delicious, easy, and very quick to prepare! I found that the cook time was only 20 minutes rather than the 40 minutes listed. The only changes I made (which made the recipe GFCF) were to double the garlic, cut the garam masala in half to 1 tsp. (it was fairly spicy with 2 tsp.), use a can of diced tomatoes with the juice instead of condensed tomato soup, and use almond milk instead of cream. I served it over brown rice, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was delicious! I did add cauliflower and sweet potatoes as well as a handful of chopped spinach which made it look and taste wonderful. I also used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and about half a can of low-fat coconut milk instead of the soup. Will make this again. My guests (family) asked if they could take the leftovers home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Instead of the soup, use one small (6 oz.) can of tomato paste. Add it to your boiled potato water. Adjust seasonings as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States