Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I've cooked a great deal of Indian dishes and this one is quick, easy and tasty. Based on previous experience (and preference) I subbed the condensed soup for diced tomatoes, used coconut milk as I had it on hand and fresh ginger. I doubled the recipe with no problems. My Mother / Father inlaw and 2 year old twin boys all ate it - no problem with heat (and my Mother inlaw is quite sensitive to heat, which is why I chose this recipe as no chilies are required). For those who like a little heat, add some green chilies and for those looking to add extra veggies, cauliflower, zucchini, spinach & sweet potatoes all work well in this dish. We serve over basmati rice and serve with naan bread. Will add this to my Indian recipe repertoire. Enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was delicious, so filling and healthy! I used a suggestion from previous comments to replace the cream with yogurt and doubled the chickpeas, but left everything else the same. This got a great reception at my place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Very happy with this recipe. As others have suggested, i substituted the tomato soup with crushed tomatoes and about 1 tsp of tomato paste, half of the potatoes with coliflower, cream with yoghurt, and vegetable oil with clarified butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Wonderful new flavors for us, my husband loves it. Amazed at the amount of spices used and how well they blend together...going to try a full traditional meal next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Flavor combination was very good with the spices. I added sweet potato and cauliflower like other reviews recommended, but the texture of chickpeas out of the can were a little too hard, I maybe should've cooked them longer so they were softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was delicious, easy, and very quick to prepare! I found that the cook time was only 20 minutes rather than the 40 minutes listed. The only changes I made (which made the recipe GFCF) were to double the garlic, cut the garam masala in half to 1 tsp. (it was fairly spicy with 2 tsp.), use a can of diced tomatoes with the juice instead of condensed tomato soup, and use almond milk instead of cream. I served it over brown rice, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was delicious! I did add cauliflower and sweet potatoes as well as a handful of chopped spinach which made it look and taste wonderful. I also used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and about half a can of low-fat coconut milk instead of the soup. Will make this again. My guests (family) asked if they could take the leftovers home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Instead of the soup, use one small (6 oz.) can of tomato paste. Add it to your boiled potato water. Adjust seasonings as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Perfect for our Meatless Mondays. I substituted a can of coconut milk for the milk, substituted drained diced tomatoes for the tomato soup and upped the curry powder to 1Tbl. I also added 1 Tbl. honey and garnished with cilantro. Seved with rice it makes a very substantial meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This recipe was simply amazing. I used black quinoa instead of rice, and it turned out amazing. I also used fresh instead of dry ginger, and added 2 tsp of chili flakes and Thai red curry paste. To add a little variety, I used 2 potatoes, a sweet potato and two carrots instead of the four potatoes. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States