Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is one of my favorite dishes. So flavorful and different from what I usually eat. I'm so glad I was introduced to Garam Masala! It's my new favorite spice. I'm going to be making this for a potluck at work. Hope it goes over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Amazing! This is by far my favorite curry recipe now. The first time I made it I made a few modifications based on what I had on hand and it worked out so well that now that's my standard. I substituted about 3 tbsp of tomato paste mixed into a cup of water in place of the tomato soup. I also used coconut milk instead of the cream. I think that gave the dish a little added sweetness and kept it non-dairy for my lactose intolerant husband. I've also used sweet potatoes with stellar results. Last time I made it I turned it into an entree for company by adding chicken. Delicious in every variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I substituted a can of diced tomatoes for the tomato soup and added two chicken breasts (diced and sauteed); easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Great one! Now a regular in my house. I substitute 1 shredded sweet potato, added in after the spices with a lid, to partly steam it for tenderness. Even my kids love this one and I've exposed many friends and family to Indian food because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I must admit, I mostly used this recipe for inspiration. I used butter chicken paste from Kitchens of India (which is GREAT) and omitted any extra spices, oil, the soup and the milk. I used half of a yellow onion, a whole can of chickpeas, and about 6 red potatoes cut up. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Good flavor, but very thick, more like mashed potatoes. Next time, used canned tomatoes instead of tomato soup. Also, try it with cauliflower instead of potatoes, for a lower calorie/healthier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is the first Indian dish I've made at home that has come close to tasting like anything my Indian friends make. Very easy! The spices were blended perfectly. Was able to adjust spiciness by adding a 1/4 tsp. of each spice until it suited us. Had half & half on hand, not cream but it seemed to work fine. Also added some frozen peas in for color. This is one of those better the next day sort of dishes and it freezes well. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I really liked this simple curry recipe. I did as a few other reviewers had suggested and used plain yogurt and tomato sauce. Great recipe, I will try again using cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very good, good flavor. Spicy but not hot. The only things I did different was that I used dried chickpeas that I had slow cooked for 2 hours with a few cloves of garlic tossed in the cooking water instead of using canned beans. I also used a can of drained diced tomatoes instead of the soup. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I love this recipe. For a dairy free recipe --instead of cream or milk I use coconut milk and instead of condensed tomato soup I use regular tomato soup. super delicious. I also substituted grilled sweet potatoes for the potatoes..made it twice in the slow cooker and both times was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States