Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I made this using cauliflower as suggested, also added corn and about 50% more of each spice. I thought it was really good at first, but near middle-end I was tired of the same flavor. Definitely good but I think it might be better as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I didn't have garam masala and it wasn't in the local grocer; so I looked up a substitute; of course I only had 5 of 7 ingredients of the substitute, but I added them in with this recipe, plus a jar of tikki masala and a cup of raisins. Along the way I added more milk; the raisins absorbed some liquid. Anyway, my husband and I both loved. Really good on white rice with a side of na'an...it was a heavy carb. night. good stuff though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is a great dish. I don't have garam masala, but it's still tasty. My husband is a big fan of Indian food and whenever this is our evening meal, he is delighted. I make the Homemade Naan II bread from All Recipes to go with this...perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We love indian food....authentic indian. I knew when I read the recipe that it wasn't going to be what we would normally make, but it had great reviews...so I gave it a shot. The taste wasn't too bad, but it was kinda sloppy. Most potato and chick pea curries are more dry, this had a fairly thick, soupy, consistency. Can soup should never go in curry. If you are a curry lover, this recipe will disappoint:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was so simple and tasted great. I used sweet potatoes instead of white and tomato paste instead of soup. It was quick to make and pretty fool-proof, a great recipe for a novice to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I found this recipe to be a bit bland for my taste. Next time I will add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ospooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
It was ok, but the canned tomato soup turned me off. I also prefer traditional flavors which incorporate coconut milk over regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tenacgrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Major YUM! Loved it and most of the kids liked it too. I did half potatoes and half cauliflower and have to say the cauliflower was my favorite part! Will experiment like others with crushed tomatoes or sauce to get away from the canned tomato soup, but the recipe is great as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very good. Followed peoples suggestions. I used cauliflower instead of potatoes. I also used diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. I also added gresh ginger (instead of dried spice) and added 2 cloves of garlic. I did 1/2 hot curry and 1/2 curry. Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow. When the flavors can develop even more. My husband added siracha to his to really kick up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States