Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Fantastic, easy recipe! I made a few changes, but I don't think it made a difference: omitted potatoes and added broccoli and red and yellow bell peppers to make a veggie curry. I didn't have tomato soup or diced tomatoes, so I used tomato sauce. Also, I used nonfat Greek yogurt instead of cream/milk. But the portions of the seasonings are perfect! Even with my healthy substitutions, the flavor is definitely there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimsyl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
YUM! I used coconut milk and I accidentally added the whole can of it to the pot but adding some canned diced tomatoes remedied that. I added more garlic, curry powder, and added some black pepper and chili sauce to make it spicier. This was delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This is so good! I used crushed tomatoes, half and half, and accidentally put in 2 t of cumin instead of one. It all worked out great, though. I added 2 chopped chicken breasts so I decreased the potatoes to 2. I'm serving it with basmati rice and I will definitely be making it again. It tastes creamy and spicy - not hot, but spicy. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time tonight because I needed to make a quick meal and had everything I needed in my fridge and cupboards. I omitted the garam masala because I didn't have any here and pureed some canned tomatoes instead of using tomato soup because that is what I had on hand. I never use onions because my husband is allergic. This was a delicious and incredibly simple meal to make and I will definitely make it again - next time for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
A quick and tasty dinner. I used real ginger in place of powdered. I think that always lifts the taste. Just had it as a stew as I don't put potatoes and rice together. Next time I will try it with cauliflower and serve in over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Just made this recipe and it came out delicious. I pretty much followed the recipe but ADDED a dash of turmeric and some cilantro. Can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polanna
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I used a tomato sauce because I don't like the flavor of tomato soup and used natural soy milk instead of regular (lactose issues). Excellent flavor and I've made it a few times more for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I substituted 2 large sweet potatoes for the 4 potatoes and doubled the amount of chickpeas and cream. Also added 3 fresh tomatoes and 1 tsp of hot red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was delicious! I substituted sweet potatoes and diced tomatoes for the regular potatoes and tomato soup. So much flavor and quite healthy. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States