Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Love this curry! Made a few small tweeks... I only had 2 medium potatoes. I didn't have any fresh garlic so I used 1/4 tsp. garlic powder. Added 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper with the spices which I added to the oil FIRST and let cook for a few minutes before adding the onion. Instead of cream I used 1/2 of a 13.5 oz. can of coconut milk. And finally, instead of a 12 oz. can of chickpeas I used a 19 oz. Came out nicely saucy (not dryish) and was mildly spicy. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
My husband really enjoyed this dish, but for some reason I didn't like much. I made it exactly as is, I guess it just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
All I have to say is, Amazing! I really enjoyed this dish. Also, I might have added just a touch more of the curry powder for an extra bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Fantastic, easy recipe! I made a few changes, but I don't think it made a difference: omitted potatoes and added broccoli and red and yellow bell peppers to make a veggie curry. I didn't have tomato soup or diced tomatoes, so I used tomato sauce. Also, I used nonfat Greek yogurt instead of cream/milk. But the portions of the seasonings are perfect! Even with my healthy substitutions, the flavor is definitely there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimsyl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
YUM! I used coconut milk and I accidentally added the whole can of it to the pot but adding some canned diced tomatoes remedied that. I added more garlic, curry powder, and added some black pepper and chili sauce to make it spicier. This was delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This is so good! I used crushed tomatoes, half and half, and accidentally put in 2 t of cumin instead of one. It all worked out great, though. I added 2 chopped chicken breasts so I decreased the potatoes to 2. I'm serving it with basmati rice and I will definitely be making it again. It tastes creamy and spicy - not hot, but spicy. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time tonight because I needed to make a quick meal and had everything I needed in my fridge and cupboards. I omitted the garam masala because I didn't have any here and pureed some canned tomatoes instead of using tomato soup because that is what I had on hand. I never use onions because my husband is allergic. This was a delicious and incredibly simple meal to make and I will definitely make it again - next time for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
A quick and tasty dinner. I used real ginger in place of powdered. I think that always lifts the taste. Just had it as a stew as I don't put potatoes and rice together. Next time I will try it with cauliflower and serve in over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Just made this recipe and it came out delicious. I pretty much followed the recipe but ADDED a dash of turmeric and some cilantro. Can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polanna
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States