Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Very flavorful. I opted to use a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes and pureed them in the food processor with 1 serrano chile instead of the tomato soup to keep the dish inline with Indian cuisine. I used the exact amount of spices and I completely forgot that my curry powder is exceptionally spicy so next time I will reduce the curry powder to 1 tsp instead of 2. I also nixed the heavy cream in order to keep the dish lower in calories and fat and opted to spoon plain yogurt on top of the dish when serving to cut back the heat of the dish a little. My 5, 4, and 2 year old loved it as well as my husband and I. I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This ended up being really good. I used coconut milk instead of normal milk by accident, and it still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was awesome!! I didn't want to mess with cooking the potatoes separately, so I cut up broccoli and added that instead. I doubled the amount of chickpeas and added some water to make more sauce, then let it simmer til it reduced a little. Wonderful! I'll be adding this to my regular rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Excellent. Keep this as a standby recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Fantastic!! I absolutly LOVED this recipe! It had just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
As written, I found this to be quite bland. I added an extra teaspoon of each spice (except the ginger) and I still wasn't satisfied. I do think using tomato sauce instead of soup makes a difference, and I added some coconut milk to add extra flavour. Might be nice with some extra veggies, or letting it sit in the fridge to let the flavour come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Love this curry! Made a few small tweeks... I only had 2 medium potatoes. I didn't have any fresh garlic so I used 1/4 tsp. garlic powder. Added 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper with the spices which I added to the oil FIRST and let cook for a few minutes before adding the onion. Instead of cream I used 1/2 of a 13.5 oz. can of coconut milk. And finally, instead of a 12 oz. can of chickpeas I used a 19 oz. Came out nicely saucy (not dryish) and was mildly spicy. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
My husband really enjoyed this dish, but for some reason I didn't like much. I made it exactly as is, I guess it just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
All I have to say is, Amazing! I really enjoyed this dish. Also, I might have added just a touch more of the curry powder for an extra bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States