Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I loved it! This is the first indian meal that I have tried to make and I absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. Overall, pretty good. My husband raved about it. My kids thought it was not so great. I did not love the condensed tomato soup. I think I will use diced tomatoes and tomato sauce next time. I used coconut milk. I will also try with cauliflower instead of potatoes as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a nice, mild curry, which was perfect for the kiddies. I prefer a bolder, spicier curry, but this recipes can be easily modified to ones own tastes. Next time, I will use diced tomatoes, tomato paste instead of the soup (I think the soup made it a bit sweeter than I prefer). I also used coconut milk, which added to the yummy-ness! One question though...if it's called "Butter Chickepea Curry"...where is the BUTTER?? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a very good base recipe. The first meal wasn't as good as the subsequent meals. I should have cooked the spices a bit longer; this would have enhanced the flavor on the first day. I also think that tumeric could have helped a bit. I used diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. I would like to try tomato sauce at some point as well in an addition to the diced tomatoes. I served this over rice with a bit of plain yogurt. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
awesome basic curry, lots of variations come to mind now that I made it once. definitely cut down the potatoes if you shop at standard grocery stores that feature monstrous sized specimens in the produce dept. and you like to have a little sauce left over after mixing everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious, thanks! Used coconut milk + a little half and half. For the soup I used home canned tomatoes, a bouillon cube, and a teaspoon of sugar. Had to use cauliflower (had no chick peas). The potatoes thicken it nicely. It's not a runny curry, more of a clingy one. As others have said, cooking the spices for several minutes first is important and storing it overnight if possible is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne G Thom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Didn't have tomato soup, so I used crushed tomatoes. Also didn't have garam masala, so I just left it out. Cooked spices in oil for about 10mins, was told that cooking for long time in oil is secret to good curries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I followed several reviewers' suggestions. I used fresh ginger (sauteed with the onions and garlic), yogurt (homemade) instead of milk, and I used tomatoes instead of tomato soup (I freeze tomatoes from my garden to use in stews and recipes such as this). I also added some extra curry (can't get too much of a good thing). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Squanto liked it very much. Very good intro to curry. Squanto also made his own garam masala and curry powder by the allrecipes directions. But he thought the recipe was a bit high in cumin, so did not put the full teaspoon as this recipe requested. Squanto added more garlic too, and used sour cream and low-fat milk combo with tomato sauce, it really helped. Great recipe the spices are not HOT spicy but spicy goooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States