Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Easy and versatile. My masala spice went missing and I was able to make up a batch out of other spices I had, I added a block of frozen spinach to the recipe, and used stewed tomatos and tomato paste, and a sprinkling of sugar since I wasn't using the soup which would have had sugar in it, and nearly tripled the whole thing for plenty of leftovers. I had brown rice for me and white rice for the family. Served it with grilled chicken legs. Maybe next time I'll throw some chicken right into the curry. You really could do anything with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Awesome, awesome, awesome! I will be making this again. I was a little skeptical about the can of tomato soup, but with the spices added to it, it made a nice creamy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I was surprised to realize I've been using this recipe, with assorted variations, for a couple of years now, so I figured I'd put my two cents in about how good and versatile it is. I've made it exactly as written, added things like peas, cauliflower, chicken and shrimp, subbed crushed tomatoes and/or coconut milk, and it always comes out great. I neither know nor care whether it's authentic; what matters is, it's a good, filling, inexpensive, delicious meal that refrigerates and freezes well so I can enjoy it for days on end. WIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have tried multiple curry seasoning types in an attempt to make a good Indian vegetable curry. This is the best I have tried. I will definitely make this again. I used all spices an sauce ingredients as listed, but added a variety of vegetables that I just happened to have on hand. It is an excellent building block recipe to be used with any vegetables you prefer. Thanks very much for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is more like a masala than a curry, I think, but it was delicious! I subbed 8 oz. tomato sauce for the cond. soup, and coconut milk for the cream. Not too spicy, so the kids could handle it. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I substituted the tomato soup and milk with tomato sauce and coconut milk and used cauliflower instead of potatoes. The mix of spices in this recipe are perfect. Served it with Indian Chapati Bread by INSHA87. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Soooo yummy! Will definitely make again. Next time I am going to sub cauliflower and spinach for the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Wow! This was so flavorful, I had a hard time stopping eating it. I found this recipe at the last minutes and discovered I had no potatoes or cauliflower, so I used sweet potato and broccoli. Had no tomato soup or canned tomatoes, so I had to use a can of tomato sauce. I went a little heavier on the garam masala and cumin. I also substituted greek yogurt for the milk. What a fantastic aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I doubled the spice and added 1/2 of a green pepper. Make sure to cook the onions/green pepper until translucent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilbunnyhuhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I've never made curry before, and this was so easy! I did make some of the recommended changes. I used 3 potatoes, added crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and upped the curry slightly. I also cooked the spices in oil before adding the onion, added water and let it simmer for 20 or so minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States