Butter Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Soooo yummy! Will definitely make again. Next time I am going to sub cauliflower and spinach for the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Wow! This was so flavorful, I had a hard time stopping eating it. I found this recipe at the last minutes and discovered I had no potatoes or cauliflower, so I used sweet potato and broccoli. Had no tomato soup or canned tomatoes, so I had to use a can of tomato sauce. I went a little heavier on the garam masala and cumin. I also substituted greek yogurt for the milk. What a fantastic aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I doubled the spice and added 1/2 of a green pepper. Make sure to cook the onions/green pepper until translucent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilbunnyhuhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I've never made curry before, and this was so easy! I did make some of the recommended changes. I used 3 potatoes, added crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and upped the curry slightly. I also cooked the spices in oil before adding the onion, added water and let it simmer for 20 or so minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I loved it! This is the first indian meal that I have tried to make and I absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. Overall, pretty good. My husband raved about it. My kids thought it was not so great. I did not love the condensed tomato soup. I think I will use diced tomatoes and tomato sauce next time. I used coconut milk. I will also try with cauliflower instead of potatoes as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a nice, mild curry, which was perfect for the kiddies. I prefer a bolder, spicier curry, but this recipes can be easily modified to ones own tastes. Next time, I will use diced tomatoes, tomato paste instead of the soup (I think the soup made it a bit sweeter than I prefer). I also used coconut milk, which added to the yummy-ness! One question though...if it's called "Butter Chickepea Curry"...where is the BUTTER?? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is a very good base recipe. The first meal wasn't as good as the subsequent meals. I should have cooked the spices a bit longer; this would have enhanced the flavor on the first day. I also think that tumeric could have helped a bit. I used diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. I would like to try tomato sauce at some point as well in an addition to the diced tomatoes. I served this over rice with a bit of plain yogurt. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
awesome basic curry, lots of variations come to mind now that I made it once. definitely cut down the potatoes if you shop at standard grocery stores that feature monstrous sized specimens in the produce dept. and you like to have a little sauce left over after mixing everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States