Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
great recipe i made it because i was very bored it being school holiday and we didn't have many ingredients, so this was a great recipe. the second time i made it i didn't have enough sugar or butter so it didn't come out that well.:( SO MAKE SURE THE MEASUREMENTS ARE CORRECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
Yummy! I made this into a two-layer cake for my daughter's birthday and frosted it with buttercream frosting. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This is the best and easiest cake recipe I've ever tried! It's also the first one that didn't break when I turned it out of the pan. A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Butter and eggs are what to look for in a cake recipe. This isn't a light froo froo cake. Use good quality ingredients like real vanilla and it's great. (I often add more vanilla than a recipe calls for) Someone said it was like corn bread, it's dense like corn bread but soft, not grainy and it certainly did not taste like flour, it tasted like a vanilla flavored cake (sweet). This cake will hold up to shaping. It is great alone but frosting is always nice too. The only difference in my ingredients, is I don't ever have milk on hand, I used powdered milk, not really a difference. Do not make if you like lighter than air, froo froo cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
My husband is a big fan of butter cakes so I tried this and put a twinkie cream from another recipe in the middle. It was fantastic! I was a little concerned that it wouldn't have a good enough butter taste for him so I added a teaspoon of butter flavoring with the one teaspoon vanilla and wow! Not sure I needed the butter flavoring but i found this to be quite good. If you have a problem with the texture, make sure you mix your sugar and butter until CREAMED this will take away some of the grit that some complain about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This was very good, I added cinnamon, allspice, ground cloves and a little nutmeg, it came out like a spice cake. Very good and very easy, this recipe is a keeper!! Thanks Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
My husband and kids raved about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I have used this recipe many many times before I turn vegan. Then I easily veganized the recipe since it doesn't strongly rely on eggs. I use egg replacer, soy milk and non-hydrogenized soy margerine and it always turn out great. I lost my print-out during my family relocation. Thankfully, this recipe is still online!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I made this and I couldn't believe how quickly it was devoured. My family loved it. I used a carmel frosting found on this site and it was terrific. I will used again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
The cake is simple yet very nice.My boyfriend loves it,so do i! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States