Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have to say that this is the recipe I was looking for! A yellow cake made from scratch. I followed the recipe to a T except I did what others suggested - cream the butter and sugar well (for about 5 minutes). I mixed everything with the electric mixer and at the end my batter looked like yellow Cool Whip. The flavour is buttery and the sweetness is just right. Just make sure to frost it light because it doesn't need a lot of it. The texture of the cake (both times I made it) was in between a pound cake and a fluffy cake. Mine was NOT like cornbread at all. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Mixed properly and not overbaked, this is a fine, moist butter cake. I used Penzey's double strength vanilla and, for extra richness and moistness, I added an egg yolk in addition to the two eggs called for. This cake has a coarse crumb which I'm sure would be great for cakes where it's important they are sturdy and hold their shape. If you're looking for a more delicate cake with a fine crumb this would not be the recipe to use. I baked this in an 8" round pan, then split it into two layers. I filled it with seedless raspberry jam, frosted it with "Butter Cream Frosting 1," also from this site, and coated the sides in coconut. Delicious combination of flavors, perfectly suited for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I have used this recipe on two occasions. I found the texture of the cake to be perfect for shaping it into themes. It holds together very , very well. Everyone who had the cake at the two birthday parties commented on its good taste . I will use the cake again - that is why I am back at this site. To print it out once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I am sorry to report that my family and I did not care for this recipe. We found it to be extremely coarsely textured and very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Butter and eggs are what to look for in a cake recipe. This isn't a light froo froo cake. Use good quality ingredients like real vanilla and it's great. (I often add more vanilla than a recipe calls for) Someone said it was like corn bread, it's dense like corn bread but soft, not grainy and it certainly did not taste like flour, it tasted like a vanilla flavored cake (sweet). This cake will hold up to shaping. It is great alone but frosting is always nice too. The only difference in my ingredients, is I don't ever have milk on hand, I used powdered milk, not really a difference. Do not make if you like lighter than air, froo froo cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This is the best and easiest cake recipe I've ever tried! It's also the first one that didn't break when I turned it out of the pan. A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I've been looking for a while for a good yellow cake recipe not using cake mix flour but as a real baker and this recipe just turned excellent. Eventhough, I added 1 more egg and 2 extra tablespoons of buttter. It's so yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This is a very good recipe!! I actually converted it into a low sugar recipe (my husband is diabetic) and it tasted wonderful. I used 1/2 a cup of sugar and 12 packets of Equal and frosted it with a sugar free pudding and dreamwhip frosting, Yummy!! And I don't normally like low sugar desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
i dont know about this one. i made it about an hour ago and it isnt very tasty. tasted kinda like flour. ill feed it to the kids. they might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe is a classic and if made properly, it should not come out like cornbread. I did add an extra egg yolk and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract to the vanilla (for a little more flavor). If your cake is coming out dry and like "cornbread", you are likely not using cake flour and you are not softening the butter and whipping it with the sugar until very fluffy. Be sure and use large sized eggs also. If your palate is only used to box cake mixes, this recipe will seem heavy and dense, but it shouldn't come out like cornbread if executed properly. One other tip, be sure your eggs are at room temperature and your butter is very soft - basics for good baking. Good luck and don't dismiss this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States