Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
Yummy! I made this into a two-layer cake for my daughter's birthday and frosted it with buttercream frosting. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
Tasted like corn bread instead of moist, Butter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This is the best and easiest cake recipe I've ever tried! It's also the first one that didn't break when I turned it out of the pan. A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This was a great butter cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This is a very good recipe!! I actually converted it into a low sugar recipe (my husband is diabetic) and it tasted wonderful. I used 1/2 a cup of sugar and 12 packets of Equal and frosted it with a sugar free pudding and dreamwhip frosting, Yummy!! And I don't normally like low sugar desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I am sorry to report that my family and I did not care for this recipe. We found it to be extremely coarsely textured and very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
i dont know about this one. i made it about an hour ago and it isnt very tasty. tasted kinda like flour. ill feed it to the kids. they might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I have used this recipe on two occasions. I found the texture of the cake to be perfect for shaping it into themes. It holds together very , very well. Everyone who had the cake at the two birthday parties commented on its good taste . I will use the cake again - that is why I am back at this site. To print it out once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Butter and eggs are what to look for in a cake recipe. This isn't a light froo froo cake. Use good quality ingredients like real vanilla and it's great. (I often add more vanilla than a recipe calls for) Someone said it was like corn bread, it's dense like corn bread but soft, not grainy and it certainly did not taste like flour, it tasted like a vanilla flavored cake (sweet). This cake will hold up to shaping. It is great alone but frosting is always nice too. The only difference in my ingredients, is I don't ever have milk on hand, I used powdered milk, not really a difference. Do not make if you like lighter than air, froo froo cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
My husband is a big fan of butter cakes so I tried this and put a twinkie cream from another recipe in the middle. It was fantastic! I was a little concerned that it wouldn't have a good enough butter taste for him so I added a teaspoon of butter flavoring with the one teaspoon vanilla and wow! Not sure I needed the butter flavoring but i found this to be quite good. If you have a problem with the texture, make sure you mix your sugar and butter until CREAMED this will take away some of the grit that some complain about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States