Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This cake is entirely too dense. Just like others have said, it turns out like cornbread. It is much too heavy for my liking, and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Well, I read the reviews that said not using pastry flour and/or not beating until creamy caused a cornbread-like consistency. I use an electric grain grinder, so I put it on the finest setting and creamed the ingredients using a Kitchen-Aid for forever. And the first comment??? "Is there cornmeal in these?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I didn't find this to be coarse at all. It was super fluffy and delicious. Very easy recipe to follow. I had whole vanilla beans so I put the seeds in and it made a beautiful vanilla bean cupcake. Definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
reaaally delicious and tasty. simple and plain, good to eat even without frosting. but DO NOT OVERBAKE take out immedieatly when the top turns golden and crispty. oh and cute the sugar down to 1/3 if you dont want it to be soon sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We LOVED this cake!! I topped it with "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from here. I didn't find it at all dry. I think it tasted wonderful and it is on it's third day and still as moist as day one. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Sherrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karman
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
My go-to cake recipe for all of my vanilla cupcakes and fondant-covered cakes. This is a dense but moist and easy to make cake...if it's dry like cornbread, you're overbaking the cake and/or mixing it too much. Mix in the flour JUST until it's blended and the cake will stay moist. If you over mix it, the gluten in the flour will make the cake "tough" plus you'll add excess air into the batter. That said, I've brought tons of cupcakes to work made with this particular recipe and people always love them. It hold its shape very well. Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Excellent! I used this cake as the base for a frozen ice cream cake and it had the perfect texture and taste to go along with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Amazing cake recipe! I only had skim milk around, but it turned out wonderfully! Though very fluffy! Great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This cake tasted good. I followed other reviewers and added an extra egg white. But just a heads up..this is NOT a two layer cake. I put it in two 8" round pans and they really didnt turn out very big. So make sure you follow the recipe which yeilds one 8" pan. This was a bit difficult to decorate as it was kind of crumbly. I am pretty good ad decorating cakes but when frosting this cake, I kept getting crumbs in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was delicious! I doubled the recipe and made it into a layer cake for my son's birthday. Everyone thought it tasted great, and my daughter wants me to use the same recipe on her birthday. My only problem was that the cake didn't easily come out of the pans for me, but I blame myself and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States