Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is a sturdy cake that can with stand a good heavy butter cream frosting. It does not crumb easily when frosted. However, it is rather dry and is a little lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 stars because my husband loves it and that's enough for me. :) One thing to keep in mind, this is probably not a b-day cake and it's definitely not light and fluffy. I've made it twice now and intend to make it again today, it always turns out just right. Not too sweet, not too rich - it's a great snack food. I followed the directions exactly, not adding anything. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
when i made this cake it tasted pretty good, but it did have the texture of cornbread. The texture was just a tad too rough for my taste. I wouldnt make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
A decent little cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I love that this makes one small cake. For a butter cake it has less butter but still tastes like a butter cake. I am downgrading this to 4 stars for two reasons, it fell in the centre (likely I took it out too early) and it was quite sweet. That being said, it is an ideal cake and size for my family and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have only used this once but am planning to use it again on Christmas Eve. I have been looking for a cake with this exact texture for years! I use it to make "jam-cakes" -- you use a cooking cutter to cut out circular pieces of pie crust and put them into cupcake/muffin pans. Then put a spoonful of raspberry preserves into the pie crusts, then top them with cake mixture. Be careful not to use too much preserves! My mother used to make these and I've been trying for years to make them, but the box cake mixes are way too light and spongy, and until now I haven't found another cake recipe that fits the bill. Thanks for much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was pretty dense (As others have said) so it depends on an individual's preferences. My kids like it just fine, and it definitely is the kind of cake that you can actually shape and decorate without it completely falling apart, so great for birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
reading all the good reviews, I thaught this cake would be excellent. when I tried it the sides were hard and cruchy, and had no real flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great taste, super easy to bake, love the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The cake came out perfect, even made cupcakes but did cook on 375 degrees. Just like moms!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States