Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
DELICIOUS! The cake was moist. It was so easy to make that I will never buy another boxed cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
The kids love it! I've already made it three times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this as cupcakes for a bake sale (2 batches made 24 cupcakes, baked for about 25 mins). I found you really have to watch how long you cook them, ake from the oven at golden yellow, don't let them brown at all. They sold out at the bake sale almost immediately and were absolutely delicious! Very buttery and moist. Expect a denser texture than with mixes or store bought cakes, that is just the way of scratch cakes. I don't understand where people are getting the cornbread impression... Apart from the yellow colour (thanks to the egg yolks) there was nothing cornbread about this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
The taste of this cake is good. Could not get out of the pans,,,even with waxed paper on the bottom. Having to piece some of it together and not happy. The texture is course and the recipe said bake for 50-55 minutes...way too long. Tried taking it out of pans after 10 minutes, tried after 30 minutes. Would Not come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made this cake as a birthday cake for my father in law. It was wonderful! I thought it was more "light" than previous reviewers suggested though. I didn't see a pound cake texture at all. I do think the secret is to use a hand mixer and mix the butter, suger, vanilla combination for a good five minutes on high. Then, I alternated a half cup flour to quarter cup milk mixing after each addition until I'd used the rest of the flour and milk. I also warmed the milk before I added it. The layers were very thin, so I ended up making four layers. They cooked in about 27 minutes. I combined raspberry jam with cream cheese to a thick consistancy for between the layers and frosted with a a mix of cream cheese, chocolate pudding mix and milk (adding milk until the mixture was smooth, but not runny). After I coated the cake in the pudding frosting (more like a mousse!) I put the cake in the refridgerator to set the frosting. It was a huge hit. My husband said it was the best cake I'd ever made. My mother in law went back for seconds (very unlike her)... I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a fatastic cake! It tastes wonderful and is great to work with. I happened to use this for a cake decoration contest and it works really well. One thing I have to worn you on is to be sure to grease the pan WELL before you bake the cake. Also be sure to watch the cake as it's baking else you may just fine a black brick of a cake in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was not to my liking! The only change I made to the ingredients was doubling the vanilla extract - and the cake STILL tasted like flour. It is a bit on the dense side but I didn't mind that at all... Flavor was the biggest disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! Got sooo many compliments, and it was easy to decorate (did not crumb more than any other cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I don't know what the heck I did wrong but this came out tasting like a sweet corn bread. I did substitute sugar with Spenda and did so as directed on the Spenda bag. We will eat it with dinner as it just so happens I made soup this evening, but I will need to go get a birthday cake from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I LOVE this recipe, this is my go to recipe for all vanilla and butter requests I get. It's always moist and super yummy, I always get nothing but raves when I make a cake with this recipe. I do add just a bit more of vanilla extract and I also wrap the layers in plastic wrap over night to help lock in the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maitej17
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States