Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I tried this recipe yesterday and i would say that the flavor is good but I don't really like the texture. Like a lot of people, the texture is like cornbread. I think that it tastes a lot better after I let it sit overnight. It became a lot more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is a great basic recipe for butter cake, the closest I've found to my favorite butter cake dessert in a restaurant! I added just a pinch of cinnamon, 2 and a half teaspoons of vanilla extract, and about a tablespoon extra of melted butter into the prepared batter before putting it into the pan and took it out just when it got golden on top and a toothpick came out clean. They were perfectly flavored and very moist. Great with chocolate frosting or with fresh berries and whipped cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Love this recipe. Taste great. Only problem was the time. First cake baked under the recommended time of 50 - 55 minutes got burnt. 2nd cake was done within 30 minutes and was perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hector
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Loved this cake! Just add an extra yolk for moisture and double vanilla for excellent flavor. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hector

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I just made this cake ....it was very yummy I followed the recipe as it was written ....I made cupcakes, they turned out very good I will be using this recipe again .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker928
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Didn't turn out the way I thought it would. I left it in the oven for 30 minutes and that was too long even. Sorry, I was hoping this would be a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saundra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I just made it and doubled all the ingredients and it was very, very nice! Moist on the inside and crusty on top. The taste was light yet buttery smooth. Just how we like it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Delicious! And this cake was super easy to make. I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Great! Made cupcakes out of the recipe. Looked, smelled and tasted so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
It was an average cake. My husband liked it but I felt it was just ok. Nothing out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States