Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Outstanding! I changed nothing. However, depending on your oven, it can take less than 50 minutes to bake. I would start checking at 35 or so, with my old oven that runs hot. I baked it in an oval casserole that is slightly larger than a 9-in. round, which could account for the shorter baking time. Again, outstanding just like it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Goblintime
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
NEVER-fail Recipe!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goblintime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Fantastic! Buttery, soft & just wonderfull with icing or melted butter and sugar poured over it!! To all the nay sayers, stick to boxed cake. This is great, quick and easy and you are able to use any icing and it will compliment. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I really like this cake. Per others suggestions, I added one more egg yolk and 2 tblsp of butter. I also creamed the butter and sugar for 5 minutes before adding anything else. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mexico Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I'm kind of upset with how this turned out. I was going to use this batter to make an oreo cake, and I couldn't! The batter was extremely thick, and even when I added a little but more milk it didn't thin out. The taste isn't too bad, just the texture and density don't suit what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Awesome recipe! It turned out really delicious and fluffy :) just a note, its probably a good idea to take the cake out about 10 or fifteen minutes earlier if you use a larger tin, because it doesnt rise very well, and cannoverbake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. No one liked it and usually my cakes get rave reviews. Tasted like flour. I'll stick to my sponge cake from scratch in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Villenave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
My daughter and I made these together as part of a homeschooling project. We followed the instructions and ingredients to the "t" and like one review said it wasn't even sweet and it even had a bitter taste. Such a big disappointment to my daughter and to me since we made TWO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I used this recipe to make pineapple upside down cake. It was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
My family love it we had it with strawberries and blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States