Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Perfect little butter cake for a small dessert. I followed the recipe instructions except I separated the eggs and whipped the whites then folded them in at the end. Light and fluffy and moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
The inside was very dry and course and the outside was hard and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonchik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I was looking to make a butter cake from scratch for my strawberry shortcake cups. The cake came out light, had a lovely fine texture and tasted great! I had been doing research and saw that to get a fine crumb you have to beat the butter and sugar for 5-10 minutes. I made sure to do this as recommended by the Joy Baking site and other Allrecipes reviewers. Also, since I really like vanilla, I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract. Lastly, I was testing out making the cake in a jelly roll pan. I doubled the recipe and it worked fine. Baking time 25 minutes if anyone was interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made cupcakes using this recipe for Valentine's dessert for my husband. This is definitely the best recipe I've found so far for butter cake/cupcakes. I admit I did alter it slightly. I substituted ½ cup of the milk for sour cream and the all-purpose flour for cake flour. Since I was using the recipe for cupcakes instead of a cake I cut the cook time to 20 minutes. The cupcakes were amazing! Light and fluffy with a crispy buttery top and very moist. In addition to the texture being great the flavor was also wonderful. I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is my go to recipe anytime I need to whip up a last minute cake or cupcakes. It's so simple that I allow my 3 year old to assist. Today we tried something new. A very simple change. We substituted the white sugar with light brown organic sugar. The butter did not cream the same probably due to brown sugar's high moisture content but the end result was wonderful. The cake had hints of a rich caramel flavor plus a golden color. Will definitely do this again when whipping up cakes for Christmas. Thank you for this simple and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Crazy as it sounds I added 1/2 a stick of cream cheese, 1/2 tsp of almond extract and an extra pinch of salt to the batter and it came extra moist on the inside with a slightly hard crust around which I love. I baked it in a bundt pan. Gave it 4 because of the changes I made but it's an excellent recipe for a base to play with. We had it with coffee and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
A perfect meeting of light and dense cake! Made 28 *perfect* cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Super easy and it tasted just like I remember my moms scratch cake! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is the BEST!! yes BEST! yellow cake I have ever tried! It is moist and delicious. The only thing is that it was finished cooking around 30 minutes! I am glad I checked it because I am pretty sure it would have dried out otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Outstanding! I changed nothing. However, depending on your oven, it can take less than 50 minutes to bake. I would start checking at 35 or so, with my old oven that runs hot. I baked it in an oval casserole that is slightly larger than a 9-in. round, which could account for the shorter baking time. Again, outstanding just like it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States