Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
really good. worked well as cupcakes decorated with 'cream cheese frosting II' and 3-d cakes decorated with 'special buttercream frosting'. a million times better than box chemical cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
YUMMMY!! I just took out the mini cupcakes from the oven and they are delicious!! I read other reviews about the texture but mine came out perfect. They are just the tinyiest bit more dense than a box cake mix. PERFECT!! I poured the rest of the batter in a round cake pan that is still in the oven, I am sure that it will turn out just as great! I really creamed well the butter mixture. Added a little extra vanilla. Then once it all came together I beat it on high with my mixer for atleast 2 minutes until I got the consistency of the store bought batter. I will definetly use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I made the blueberry version of this and added lemon zest. I think someone else said this reminded them of cornbread, and I could see why (not sure what it is, maybe the texture... but a bit moister). I have had cakes like this from bakeries, so it's not bad, but it's just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for when I was searching for "butter cake". This cake is dense, golden on top, and not too sweet. It is great for shaped cakes or shaping because it is not crumbly and will not fall apart. I made cupcakes- mixed everything by hand to a smooth, creamy finish and poured the paper cups to a little over half full. This made them rise perfectly- not too tall and not too short. I followed the ingredients, no substituting but being cupcakes, I baked them for 40 minutes in an electric oven. They probably could have gone maybe 35 minutes, but I forgot to check on them. While they were baking, my husband and I gobbled the extra batter. That is when I knew these would be yummy. I could not stop eating the batter. Anyway, after the timing issue, they came out fine and they are delicious! I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks! (P.S. I would like to comment on the "cornbread" comments... this cake tastes NOTHING like cornbread!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Great success for this 1st time baker !!! For really, I am so proud of myself with the result and help from this recipe and all the + & - ratings. The cake came out great. Pretty moist and yummy !!! It turned out taking 55 mins with my oven. Didn't came out like a corn bread at all. After reviewed many different ratings, I have taken some advices and changed the recipe a little by adding 1 more egg, 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Since this is my first time baking, I would not know the difference if I didn't have more eggs or vanilla. But, this pleasent experence have given me great confident for my next attempt, (after I have finished this cake with my family) I will probably try the same recipe with wallnuts or bluebarries, ... will also take other advice to try and add 2 more tsp of butter too so see how it come out. Bake-on !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I made this last night, it was really dry and not very flavorful and I followed the recipe to a "T". I will not be making again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very easy! I made cupcakes, and found they raised beautifully and were light. I baked them 30 minutes instead of the longer period for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I followed the recipe exact, just added 1/4c of lemon juice to two layers of the cake, and the zest of one lemon and one orange. Wonderful cake for easter dinner. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
great cake! the best easy to do butter cake recipe! I halved the sugar and it still taste nice and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Zuriel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have to say that this is the recipe I was looking for! A yellow cake made from scratch. I followed the recipe to a T except I did what others suggested - cream the butter and sugar well (for about 5 minutes). I mixed everything with the electric mixer and at the end my batter looked like yellow Cool Whip. The flavour is buttery and the sweetness is just right. Just make sure to frost it light because it doesn't need a lot of it. The texture of the cake (both times I made it) was in between a pound cake and a fluffy cake. Mine was NOT like cornbread at all. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 141-150 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States