Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I read through the reviews hoping that when I made it that it wasn't like cornbread....it was. It had the texture of cornbread. But it still tasted good and looked pretty!!! I wish I knew why it was like cornbread because I beat the heck out of the butter/sugar mixture. Maybe I will have to try cake flour. But it was still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is the best butter cake recipe I've ever tasted! One reviewer said it was coarse textured, but it is not. If you want a finer texture to a cake, use cake flour or pastry flour. Also very important, bake it for 40 minutes, not 50 or 55 minutes! I made this for my 2nd wedding anniversary with a vanilla buttercream frosting and strawberry filling and oh! What a hit it was! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Suzanne Faucher-Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
A good, all-purpose butter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My father-in-law wanted a yellow cake, and I didn't want to make it from a box and this was perfect. I combined this cake with the "Pudding Poke Cake" from this site for a chocolate pudding "icing", and it was perfect. I'm definitely not a baker, but the cake was not dry, and a perfect texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I doubled this recipe and used a 9x13 baking dish. It's important if you want great results, you follow the directions closely. I made sure to whip the fats and the sugar until fluffy, sift the dry ingredients and alternate the dry ingredients with the wet (ie, milk). My cake came out incredible. I frosted this cake with the Special Buttercream Frosting also from this site. Great pairing. I'd make this again. This was a fun weekend recipe to make with my oldest boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Perfect butter cake recipes. I doubled this recipe and used this for cupcakes (24) and they turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
really good. worked well as cupcakes decorated with 'cream cheese frosting II' and 3-d cakes decorated with 'special buttercream frosting'. a million times better than box chemical cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
YUMMMY!! I just took out the mini cupcakes from the oven and they are delicious!! I read other reviews about the texture but mine came out perfect. They are just the tinyiest bit more dense than a box cake mix. PERFECT!! I poured the rest of the batter in a round cake pan that is still in the oven, I am sure that it will turn out just as great! I really creamed well the butter mixture. Added a little extra vanilla. Then once it all came together I beat it on high with my mixer for atleast 2 minutes until I got the consistency of the store bought batter. I will definetly use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I made the blueberry version of this and added lemon zest. I think someone else said this reminded them of cornbread, and I could see why (not sure what it is, maybe the texture... but a bit moister). I have had cakes like this from bakeries, so it's not bad, but it's just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for when I was searching for "butter cake". This cake is dense, golden on top, and not too sweet. It is great for shaped cakes or shaping because it is not crumbly and will not fall apart. I made cupcakes- mixed everything by hand to a smooth, creamy finish and poured the paper cups to a little over half full. This made them rise perfectly- not too tall and not too short. I followed the ingredients, no substituting but being cupcakes, I baked them for 40 minutes in an electric oven. They probably could have gone maybe 35 minutes, but I forgot to check on them. While they were baking, my husband and I gobbled the extra batter. That is when I knew these would be yummy. I could not stop eating the batter. Anyway, after the timing issue, they came out fine and they are delicious! I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks! (P.S. I would like to comment on the "cornbread" comments... this cake tastes NOTHING like cornbread!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States