Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Great tasting cake and easy to prepare. Very dense but not dry. Definitely use cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I made this into one of those "rainbow" cakes for my husband's birthday, it was the perfect size for the two of us and he loved the "cornbread" texture. He said he doesn't like really airy/fluffy cakes, so this one was perfect for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is a great basic recipe for a butter cake. I used 3/4 cup of sugar so I changed the recipe a bit. I also baked it in a convection oven on 325 for 35 minutes. It came out golden brown, extremely moist and a crust that had just a bit of a crunch. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This cake is delicious and turned out really well! I followed this recipe very closely - just used cake flour and sifted all of the dry ingredients. I also let my eggs and butter come to room temperature before using. I thought the texture was great - cake was very moist - not at all dry. I also made sure not to overmix once I thoroughly creamed butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Not great, but I wonder if I just overcooked it a bit. Denser than I wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe is a classic and if made properly, it should not come out like cornbread. I did add an extra egg yolk and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract to the vanilla (for a little more flavor). If your cake is coming out dry and like "cornbread", you are likely not using cake flour and you are not softening the butter and whipping it with the sugar until very fluffy. Be sure and use large sized eggs also. If your palate is only used to box cake mixes, this recipe will seem heavy and dense, but it shouldn't come out like cornbread if executed properly. One other tip, be sure your eggs are at room temperature and your butter is very soft - basics for good baking. Good luck and don't dismiss this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe. I added a fourth teaspoon of lemon extract with the vanilla and it turned out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boyds, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
The consistency was far too dense for me and it did seem a bit like cornbread. I won't use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew James Dodson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I like heavy, moist cakes, and this was both of those but it just didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a very good cake recipe for cupcakes or as a base for Boston Cream Pie. Be careful not to overcook, 50 minutes was too long in my oven, I will begin to check it at 40 minutes. ' Good Buttery flavor, with a slightly crispy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States