Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is an awesome recipie!I made it for poker night and it was gone really quickly! I frosted it with Hershey's Perfectly Chocolate frosting,the recipe which I found at the back of the coco powder tin. The problem with the cake is that it takes longer to brown so you really need to keep an eye on it. i suggest lowering the temperature if you have a fan forced oven like me. I baked it at 160+degrees celcius and it was in there for about 40+ mins or so. Oh and its best warm with the frosting on it. And the crusty bits rock!And it wasn't too dense at all. A nice in between. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I used this recipe for my son's birthday cake. The flavor was good, but, I, like others, wasn't overly fond of the heaviness of the cake. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. I made the cake into cupcakes and though it looked like cornbread, it did not taste like cornbread at all! I added a teaspoon of almond extract to the recipe and a little extra sugar. The texture was not too dense or cornbread like. As another person said, I think it is important to cream the butter well as well as to cream the sugar, butter, and egg mixture well as well. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
easy to make...looks coarse but taste just right....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I used this cake for my daughters 3rd birthday "princess castle cake". It turned out perfect!! Everyone raved about how the cake looked, and especially how good it was!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly but put the batter in a 9" round cake tin, baking it for 47min. It was a beautiful golden brown on the outside, and tasted great. I didn't put any icing on the cake for fear it would be too sweet. The key is using good quality butter and real vanilla extract. The texture of the cake was not very light, it was actually quite dense but my family enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
very nice..but my cake burnt on the top at 30 minutes..any suggestion why?so I slow down the temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made the blueberry version. This is very good but not the consistancy of box cake mix. It is dense, more like muffin consistancy. It is also done in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is a heavy cake with a good flavor. To lighten it up I am going to make whipped cream and put strawberries in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Nice and moist and rich. I ran out of white sugar (oops!) so I had to use about half a cup of brown to make up the difference. I served it with fresh strawberries, icecream (vanilla) and a little drizzle of good balsalmic vineager. And my husband enjoyed fresh fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States