Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My father-in-law wanted a yellow cake, and I didn't want to make it from a box and this was perfect. I combined this cake with the "Pudding Poke Cake" from this site for a chocolate pudding "icing", and it was perfect. I'm definitely not a baker, but the cake was not dry, and a perfect texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I doubled this recipe and used a 9x13 baking dish. It's important if you want great results, you follow the directions closely. I made sure to whip the fats and the sugar until fluffy, sift the dry ingredients and alternate the dry ingredients with the wet (ie, milk). My cake came out incredible. I frosted this cake with the Special Buttercream Frosting also from this site. Great pairing. I'd make this again. This was a fun weekend recipe to make with my oldest boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Perfect butter cake recipes. I doubled this recipe and used this for cupcakes (24) and they turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
really good. worked well as cupcakes decorated with 'cream cheese frosting II' and 3-d cakes decorated with 'special buttercream frosting'. a million times better than box chemical cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
YUMMMY!! I just took out the mini cupcakes from the oven and they are delicious!! I read other reviews about the texture but mine came out perfect. They are just the tinyiest bit more dense than a box cake mix. PERFECT!! I poured the rest of the batter in a round cake pan that is still in the oven, I am sure that it will turn out just as great! I really creamed well the butter mixture. Added a little extra vanilla. Then once it all came together I beat it on high with my mixer for atleast 2 minutes until I got the consistency of the store bought batter. I will definetly use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I made the blueberry version of this and added lemon zest. I think someone else said this reminded them of cornbread, and I could see why (not sure what it is, maybe the texture... but a bit moister). I have had cakes like this from bakeries, so it's not bad, but it's just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for when I was searching for "butter cake". This cake is dense, golden on top, and not too sweet. It is great for shaped cakes or shaping because it is not crumbly and will not fall apart. I made cupcakes- mixed everything by hand to a smooth, creamy finish and poured the paper cups to a little over half full. This made them rise perfectly- not too tall and not too short. I followed the ingredients, no substituting but being cupcakes, I baked them for 40 minutes in an electric oven. They probably could have gone maybe 35 minutes, but I forgot to check on them. While they were baking, my husband and I gobbled the extra batter. That is when I knew these would be yummy. I could not stop eating the batter. Anyway, after the timing issue, they came out fine and they are delicious! I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks! (P.S. I would like to comment on the "cornbread" comments... this cake tastes NOTHING like cornbread!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Great success for this 1st time baker !!! For really, I am so proud of myself with the result and help from this recipe and all the + & - ratings. The cake came out great. Pretty moist and yummy !!! It turned out taking 55 mins with my oven. Didn't came out like a corn bread at all. After reviewed many different ratings, I have taken some advices and changed the recipe a little by adding 1 more egg, 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Since this is my first time baking, I would not know the difference if I didn't have more eggs or vanilla. But, this pleasent experence have given me great confident for my next attempt, (after I have finished this cake with my family) I will probably try the same recipe with wallnuts or bluebarries, ... will also take other advice to try and add 2 more tsp of butter too so see how it come out. Bake-on !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I made this last night, it was really dry and not very flavorful and I followed the recipe to a "T". I will not be making again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very easy! I made cupcakes, and found they raised beautifully and were light. I baked them 30 minutes instead of the longer period for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States