Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a very good cake recipe for cupcakes or as a base for Boston Cream Pie. Be careful not to overcook, 50 minutes was too long in my oven, I will begin to check it at 40 minutes. ' Good Buttery flavor, with a slightly crispy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Just Ok... not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I doubled the amounts of everything. I used 4 instead of 2 eggs, an extra half cup of Spenda. I baked for 45 mins instead of 50 or 55. The cake turns out good, moist & buttery. It's not sweet enough for me. Next time, I would add 3 cups of Splenda for the recommended 2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great taste but too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Mixed properly and not overbaked, this is a fine, moist butter cake. I used Penzey's double strength vanilla and, for extra richness and moistness, I added an egg yolk in addition to the two eggs called for. This cake has a coarse crumb which I'm sure would be great for cakes where it's important they are sturdy and hold their shape. If you're looking for a more delicate cake with a fine crumb this would not be the recipe to use. I baked this in an 8" round pan, then split it into two layers. I filled it with seedless raspberry jam, frosted it with "Butter Cream Frosting 1," also from this site, and coated the sides in coconut. Delicious combination of flavors, perfectly suited for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I read through the reviews hoping that when I made it that it wasn't like cornbread....it was. It had the texture of cornbread. But it still tasted good and looked pretty!!! I wish I knew why it was like cornbread because I beat the heck out of the butter/sugar mixture. Maybe I will have to try cake flour. But it was still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is the best butter cake recipe I've ever tasted! One reviewer said it was coarse textured, but it is not. If you want a finer texture to a cake, use cake flour or pastry flour. Also very important, bake it for 40 minutes, not 50 or 55 minutes! I made this for my 2nd wedding anniversary with a vanilla buttercream frosting and strawberry filling and oh! What a hit it was! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Suzanne Faucher-Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
A good, all-purpose butter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My father-in-law wanted a yellow cake, and I didn't want to make it from a box and this was perfect. I combined this cake with the "Pudding Poke Cake" from this site for a chocolate pudding "icing", and it was perfect. I'm definitely not a baker, but the cake was not dry, and a perfect texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I doubled this recipe and used a 9x13 baking dish. It's important if you want great results, you follow the directions closely. I made sure to whip the fats and the sugar until fluffy, sift the dry ingredients and alternate the dry ingredients with the wet (ie, milk). My cake came out incredible. I frosted this cake with the Special Buttercream Frosting also from this site. Great pairing. I'd make this again. This was a fun weekend recipe to make with my oldest boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States