Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
it was a great light cake that worked well as cupcakes. i just found that you cant make a large batch at one time and that it really needed to mixed well. to finnish up i dusted it with vanilla sugar and it was awesome! over all it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was a very good cake. I had to make some substitutions because I did not have milk (mixed cream, water and added some sour cream), and I did end up adding an extra tablespoon of butter. All in all, wonderful cake - frosted with chocolate frosting. Yum! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I bake daily.I wanted something NOT chocolate. I DID read all of the reviews before making this so I knew I had a nice firm crust to put a thick buttercream frosting onto. I served my chubby hubby a slice. He said,"It's good but it reminds me of something." As he takes another bite he thinks some more...."I know, CORNBREAD!" He will finish the cake I'm sure. There is a texture issue with this recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni Haraburda

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
It felt like something was missing... It was sort of lacking in flavor. And my family just really didn't care for it. Thanks for the recipe tho! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaydensMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I did not like this recipe. The consistently of the cake was course and the flavor was bland. The children would not even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is a great yellow cake I too have made it several times now (following another reviewer's suggested mixing time and it is all that you could want in a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
ok. Probably the best cake I've made. It is really all in the technique. Having your butter, eggs and milk really makes a HUGE difference. I like to mix my cakes by hand and made sure to alternate the flour mixture and milk slowly into the butter mixure to make sure everything was incorporated. I filled these with raspberry jam and topped it with a peanut butter frosting that I made up. My friends loved these "peanut butter and jelly cupcakes" I made these in mini-muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is simple and quite tasty. I made cupcakes and they only took 25 minutes. I also made one batch substituting about 1/2 cup cocoa for slightly less than 1/2 cup flour and it was a great chocolate version. I think it's hard to screw up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Absolutely perfect! never going back to boxed cakes again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
this is the best cake recipie i've ever tasted.it tasts just like yellow cake you get at the store i've make it like 3 times and put different things in it like chocolate chips and straberry syrup and swirled it.delishous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States