Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bluerider
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
100% agree with using room temp ingredients, making sure they are sifted and creamed very well. Mine turned out very light and supported fondant well. I also used the blueberry variation. Very very good recipe!!! Too bad about my fondant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Worst cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I honestly liked this recipe.I have been trying cakes from scratch and they always come out to dense.When I made this one,I followed the instructions and looked at and batter and tasted it.It seemed a little floury(not to mention my butter and sugar had a funny texture).I added extra sugar and butter and I was okay with how it tasted.I thought flouring the pan would cause the cake to be dry for some reason.I baked it in a bundt pan and used butter instead but apparently not enough because the top of the cake got stuck to the bottom of the pan lol.Nontheless the cake tasted good.It was a thick on the outside but I liked it.I might change it a little more next time I make it but for the most part keep it the same.My boyfriend and my cousins loved it ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
**Gluten Free** version.... and it came out wonderful! It's light, fluffy and very tasty. I followed the directions exactly, except I substituted a Gluten Free flour blend for the cake flour and used almond milk. I made sure to blend the butter/sugar/eggs very well. It's hard to make a fluffy GF cake, but this worked well. One of the best I've made from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Solid recipe. Great flavor, perfect texture. My batter seemed rather thick, but it's also pretty cold in here so maybe my room temperature wasn't as intended :) I did not use parchment paper, just greased and floured my springform pan, and had no issues whatsoever getting the thing out. Thanks for sharing this classic recipe Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ilovebaking15
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I love the flavor is this cake. I see that some people had a problem with how dense the cake was. I beated my butter alone for a minute or so and then added my sugar and I beated this for an extra 5 minutes. When u add the eggs, beat for a minute after each addition. Also, when adding the flour mixture and the milk be sure to add 3 parts of dry mixture and 2 parts of milk. (Ex: flour mixture,milk,flour mixture, milk,flour mixture) remember to beat very well after each addition but don't over mix. Then, tap the pan(s) in the counter a couple of times before baking. This will make a fluffy and delicious cake almost cake mix like (ALMOST). My cake took 45 minutes in the oven and turned out great. Definitely making this again. I hope this helped :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Add this to caramel icing 1 turned out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is a wonderful homemade yellow cake recipe with a lovely flavor and beautiful texture. I doubled the recipe and baked it in 2 8" round layers, It came out of the pans very nicely after letting it rest (as the recipe advises). The only slight change that I made was that I had part of an envelope of vanilla sugar leftover from another recipe and added it in addition to the vanilla extract. As a side note, I read some of the reviews claiming that the cake was too dense and tasted of flour. Flours differ, and measuring it can be an art form, especially for cakes. My advice would be to spoon the flour LIGHTLY into the measuring cup, and then level it GENTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, except instead of using 3/4 cup of regular milk I added 3/4 cup of evaporated milk. This cake turned out amazing! Definitely a great recipe that I will use often. I paired it with a chocolate frosting from this site as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cancemi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aramos
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I over cooked mine and didn't grease the pan well enough so it broke while I took it out of the pan. Tastes good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States