Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We LOVED this cake!! I topped it with "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from here. I didn't find it at all dry. I think it tasted wonderful and it is on it's third day and still as moist as day one. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Sherrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karman
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
My go-to cake recipe for all of my vanilla cupcakes and fondant-covered cakes. This is a dense but moist and easy to make cake...if it's dry like cornbread, you're overbaking the cake and/or mixing it too much. Mix in the flour JUST until it's blended and the cake will stay moist. If you over mix it, the gluten in the flour will make the cake "tough" plus you'll add excess air into the batter. That said, I've brought tons of cupcakes to work made with this particular recipe and people always love them. It hold its shape very well. Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Excellent! I used this cake as the base for a frozen ice cream cake and it had the perfect texture and taste to go along with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Amazing cake recipe! I only had skim milk around, but it turned out wonderfully! Though very fluffy! Great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This cake tasted good. I followed other reviewers and added an extra egg white. But just a heads up..this is NOT a two layer cake. I put it in two 8" round pans and they really didnt turn out very big. So make sure you follow the recipe which yeilds one 8" pan. This was a bit difficult to decorate as it was kind of crumbly. I am pretty good ad decorating cakes but when frosting this cake, I kept getting crumbs in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was delicious! I doubled the recipe and made it into a layer cake for my son's birthday. Everyone thought it tasted great, and my daughter wants me to use the same recipe on her birthday. My only problem was that the cake didn't easily come out of the pans for me, but I blame myself and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I did not really care for this recipe. It might be a personal preference but I thought that it was strangly textured and dry. Probably will not make this again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and I agree with the other reviewer that the batter should look like yellow cool whip when you are finished. I made these into cupcakes, they made about 14 cupcakes for me and took about 17 minutes to bake. I was concerned about them tasting like cornbread as other reviews had mentioned and when serving them for my friend's birthday, the first thing out of his mouth was indeed... "they taste like cornbread." Figures. In my opinion, the taste is quite good, moist and buttery. But the texture it what makes them appear to be cornbread-y. They were not smooth but instead had a lot of places where air bubbles had formed and caused a course texture. Also, they did not form domes like most attractive cupcakes do which was disappointing. Maybe they would make a better cake then a cupcake but I would not recommend making this recipe. It's very easy to make but the pay off is not good. All in all an okay recipe, but defintely DO NOT make cupcakes with it. You will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
i love this recipe-thanks Carol! i use it as a base and add my variations, eg upside down pineapple cake, berry filling/topping, double layer cake with choc frosting etc...and the list goes on! its a quick and very versatile cake and it has tasted great every time. 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I have to say that it did sort of taste like cornbread. It had a good flavor, but it was very heavy and thick. Not as moist as I expected. I will make again, but will probably use a bundt, tube, or loaf pan next time as it is more like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States