Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and I agree with the other reviewer that the batter should look like yellow cool whip when you are finished. I made these into cupcakes, they made about 14 cupcakes for me and took about 17 minutes to bake. I was concerned about them tasting like cornbread as other reviews had mentioned and when serving them for my friend's birthday, the first thing out of his mouth was indeed... "they taste like cornbread." Figures. In my opinion, the taste is quite good, moist and buttery. But the texture it what makes them appear to be cornbread-y. They were not smooth but instead had a lot of places where air bubbles had formed and caused a course texture. Also, they did not form domes like most attractive cupcakes do which was disappointing. Maybe they would make a better cake then a cupcake but I would not recommend making this recipe. It's very easy to make but the pay off is not good. All in all an okay recipe, but defintely DO NOT make cupcakes with it. You will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
i love this recipe-thanks Carol! i use it as a base and add my variations, eg upside down pineapple cake, berry filling/topping, double layer cake with choc frosting etc...and the list goes on! its a quick and very versatile cake and it has tasted great every time. 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I have to say that it did sort of taste like cornbread. It had a good flavor, but it was very heavy and thick. Not as moist as I expected. I will make again, but will probably use a bundt, tube, or loaf pan next time as it is more like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I will to reduce the sugar by 1/8 next time since it's a bit sweeter to my palate. Other than that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is an AWESOME recipe[: i made this really easily :D i wouldnt suggest so much vanilla extract though, personally, half a teaspoon is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Delicious! Like MACGREGORS said, this cake holds together and shapes very well. If you're using fondant, make sure you chill your shaped cake before applying your thin layer of icing so all that effort you put into shaping your cake doesn't crumble away... Learned that lesson thae hard way :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly, making sure that my butter/sugar was very well creamed. This cake has a spongy texture, but feels more dense than an angel food cake. I think it most resembles a coffee cake in terms of texture. I also threw in some chopped fresh strawberries and it was so yummy. I love that this recipe is so versatile and you can add fresh seasonal fruit, jams, frostings, whatever to make a cake for whatever mood you're in. I bet this cake would be great in pineapple upside down cakes too! This will be a definite go-to recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
kind of dry, fit well in a 9 in. round for 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Very light. Tasted like an angel food cake with only 4 eggs. Very good recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANCHECA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
REALLY moist and delicious cake. I substituted the milk with vanilla soy milk, and poured the mixture into a 9 in. square pan. The cake was browned on top after 30 minutes and had a really spongy, moist texture. Also, I made butterscotch topping with random stuff from my cabinet. 1 stick butter 2 cups butterscotch chips 1 cup dark brown sugar 1 tsp. vanilla extract I cooked down the sauce on my stovetop, then poured the sauce over the cake immediately after it came out of the oven. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren115

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States