Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I really like this cake. Per others suggestions, I added one more egg yolk and 2 tblsp of butter. I also creamed the butter and sugar for 5 minutes before adding anything else. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mexico Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I'm kind of upset with how this turned out. I was going to use this batter to make an oreo cake, and I couldn't! The batter was extremely thick, and even when I added a little but more milk it didn't thin out. The taste isn't too bad, just the texture and density don't suit what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Awesome recipe! It turned out really delicious and fluffy :) just a note, its probably a good idea to take the cake out about 10 or fifteen minutes earlier if you use a larger tin, because it doesnt rise very well, and cannoverbake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. No one liked it and usually my cakes get rave reviews. Tasted like flour. I'll stick to my sponge cake from scratch in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Villenave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
My daughter and I made these together as part of a homeschooling project. We followed the instructions and ingredients to the "t" and like one review said it wasn't even sweet and it even had a bitter taste. Such a big disappointment to my daughter and to me since we made TWO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I used this recipe to make pineapple upside down cake. It was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
My family love it we had it with strawberries and blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I tried this recipe yesterday and i would say that the flavor is good but I don't really like the texture. Like a lot of people, the texture is like cornbread. I think that it tastes a lot better after I let it sit overnight. It became a lot more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is a great basic recipe for butter cake, the closest I've found to my favorite butter cake dessert in a restaurant! I added just a pinch of cinnamon, 2 and a half teaspoons of vanilla extract, and about a tablespoon extra of melted butter into the prepared batter before putting it into the pan and took it out just when it got golden on top and a toothpick came out clean. They were perfectly flavored and very moist. Great with chocolate frosting or with fresh berries and whipped cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Love this recipe. Taste great. Only problem was the time. First cake baked under the recommended time of 50 - 55 minutes got burnt. 2nd cake was done within 30 minutes and was perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States