Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I was looking to make a butter cake from scratch for my strawberry shortcake cups. The cake came out light, had a lovely fine texture and tasted great! I had been doing research and saw that to get a fine crumb you have to beat the butter and sugar for 5-10 minutes. I made sure to do this as recommended by the Joy Baking site and other Allrecipes reviewers. Also, since I really like vanilla, I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract. Lastly, I was testing out making the cake in a jelly roll pan. I doubled the recipe and it worked fine. Baking time 25 minutes if anyone was interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made cupcakes using this recipe for Valentine's dessert for my husband. This is definitely the best recipe I've found so far for butter cake/cupcakes. I admit I did alter it slightly. I substituted ½ cup of the milk for sour cream and the all-purpose flour for cake flour. Since I was using the recipe for cupcakes instead of a cake I cut the cook time to 20 minutes. The cupcakes were amazing! Light and fluffy with a crispy buttery top and very moist. In addition to the texture being great the flavor was also wonderful. I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is my go to recipe anytime I need to whip up a last minute cake or cupcakes. It's so simple that I allow my 3 year old to assist. Today we tried something new. A very simple change. We substituted the white sugar with light brown organic sugar. The butter did not cream the same probably due to brown sugar's high moisture content but the end result was wonderful. The cake had hints of a rich caramel flavor plus a golden color. Will definitely do this again when whipping up cakes for Christmas. Thank you for this simple and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Crazy as it sounds I added 1/2 a stick of cream cheese, 1/2 tsp of almond extract and an extra pinch of salt to the batter and it came extra moist on the inside with a slightly hard crust around which I love. I baked it in a bundt pan. Gave it 4 because of the changes I made but it's an excellent recipe for a base to play with. We had it with coffee and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
A perfect meeting of light and dense cake! Made 28 *perfect* cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Super easy and it tasted just like I remember my moms scratch cake! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is the BEST!! yes BEST! yellow cake I have ever tried! It is moist and delicious. The only thing is that it was finished cooking around 30 minutes! I am glad I checked it because I am pretty sure it would have dried out otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Outstanding! I changed nothing. However, depending on your oven, it can take less than 50 minutes to bake. I would start checking at 35 or so, with my old oven that runs hot. I baked it in an oval casserole that is slightly larger than a 9-in. round, which could account for the shorter baking time. Again, outstanding just like it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Goblintime
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
NEVER-fail Recipe!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goblintime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Fantastic! Buttery, soft & just wonderfull with icing or melted butter and sugar poured over it!! To all the nay sayers, stick to boxed cake. This is great, quick and easy and you are able to use any icing and it will compliment. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States