Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This cake is delicious and turned out really well! I followed this recipe very closely - just used cake flour and sifted all of the dry ingredients. I also let my eggs and butter come to room temperature before using. I thought the texture was great - cake was very moist - not at all dry. I also made sure not to overmix once I thoroughly creamed butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Not great, but I wonder if I just overcooked it a bit. Denser than I wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe is a classic and if made properly, it should not come out like cornbread. I did add an extra egg yolk and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract to the vanilla (for a little more flavor). If your cake is coming out dry and like "cornbread", you are likely not using cake flour and you are not softening the butter and whipping it with the sugar until very fluffy. Be sure and use large sized eggs also. If your palate is only used to box cake mixes, this recipe will seem heavy and dense, but it shouldn't come out like cornbread if executed properly. One other tip, be sure your eggs are at room temperature and your butter is very soft - basics for good baking. Good luck and don't dismiss this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe. I added a fourth teaspoon of lemon extract with the vanilla and it turned out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boyds, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
The consistency was far too dense for me and it did seem a bit like cornbread. I won't use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wasabinoir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I like heavy, moist cakes, and this was both of those but it just didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a very good cake recipe for cupcakes or as a base for Boston Cream Pie. Be careful not to overcook, 50 minutes was too long in my oven, I will begin to check it at 40 minutes. ' Good Buttery flavor, with a slightly crispy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Just Ok... not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I doubled the amounts of everything. I used 4 instead of 2 eggs, an extra half cup of Spenda. I baked for 45 mins instead of 50 or 55. The cake turns out good, moist & buttery. It's not sweet enough for me. Next time, I would add 3 cups of Splenda for the recommended 2 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great taste but too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States