Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly, making sure that my butter/sugar was very well creamed. This cake has a spongy texture, but feels more dense than an angel food cake. I think it most resembles a coffee cake in terms of texture. I also threw in some chopped fresh strawberries and it was so yummy. I love that this recipe is so versatile and you can add fresh seasonal fruit, jams, frostings, whatever to make a cake for whatever mood you're in. I bet this cake would be great in pineapple upside down cakes too! This will be a definite go-to recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
kind of dry, fit well in a 9 in. round for 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Very light. Tasted like an angel food cake with only 4 eggs. Very good recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANCHECA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
REALLY moist and delicious cake. I substituted the milk with vanilla soy milk, and poured the mixture into a 9 in. square pan. The cake was browned on top after 30 minutes and had a really spongy, moist texture. Also, I made butterscotch topping with random stuff from my cabinet. 1 stick butter 2 cups butterscotch chips 1 cup dark brown sugar 1 tsp. vanilla extract I cooked down the sauce on my stovetop, then poured the sauce over the cake immediately after it came out of the oven. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren115

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Wonderful cake! I followed the directions except I added a packed of french vanilla instant pudding mix. The cake came out very dense (not like corn bread) with a really good flavor. I iced it with my peanut butter cream cheese icing. So far I've gotten rave reviews for it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Not great, not awful. One guest said they tasted like cornmeal. I didn't think they were that bad. Edited for second time baking: MUCH better this time. I wonder if I had overbeaten it the first? Upgraded from 3-4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Very good. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
it's amazing! next time i might add some chocolate chips, but maybe not. i love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crete, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGRICHRDS
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The first time I made this cake, I did not cream the butter and sugar long enough and it produced a cake the was coarse in texture, much like cornbread to quote some of the reviewers here. When I made the cake a second time, I creamed the butter and sugar for about 5 minutes, then added the eggs and vanilla and mixed until just blended before adding the flour and milk, stirring by hand. This produced a cake with a much finer texture. Both cakes were yummy though! It also helps to lightly spoon the flour into the measuring cup before leveling instead of scooping out the flour with the cup. You use less flour this way and it produces a moister product. And finally, both cakes were done waaaaayyyy before 50 minutes. The first cake was baked in an 8x8 pan and it was a tad over done at 35 minutes. I baked the second cake for 25 minutes in a 9x9 pan and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGRICHRDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This cake is awesome! If you are loking for a cake mix type cake then use a mix, but if you are looking for something with a great flavor and an interesting texture, this is for you. Reminds me of the cakes my Gran made for me as a child!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Webster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States