Butter Brickle Frozen Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
WOW! I made this for my mother-in-laws B-day. We went to a restaurant for dinner and they allowed us to bring our own "cake" for dessert. It is a very impressive looking dessert. We shared the dessert with our waiter staff and hostess. The raves came from all. I heard "Awesome", "the best I have ever eaten", and the restaurant wants the recipe. I guess there isn't a better testimonial than that. Allow enough time for this to freeze. I did it over night and suggest that it be left in the freezer til you are serving it. It melts fast!! If you spray the pan "lightly" with pam there shouldn't be any trouble serving it. Young and Old agreed on this one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
VERY RICH AND VERRRRRRRRYYY SWEET. It's almost TOO SWEET. Some members of my extended family couldn't finish their one piece and they are big time dessert eaters! Although it's still good before it completely sets up, it takes SEVERAL hours to harden (Like over night). It's good any way you eat it though. Be careful to not press the graham cracker crust into the springform pan or it will be hard as stone in the bottom of your pan. I made a second batch with a double layer crust, since I like thick crusts, and I barely pressed it in. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is SO good! Tastes like a candybar!I also put it in a 9x13, instead of a springform pan. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Absolutely scrumptious! This is great to keep on hand in the freezer for unexpected company. I've made this three times now and I have better luck with the flour/oat mixture if I bake it at 350* and keep a close eye on it. Ten minutes seems to work great. It starts to burn @ 400* for 10 minutes in my oven. I have tried it with both pre-chopped pecans and whole pecans broken into smaller pieces and I like the whole broken pecans the best because they toast better and they lend to the crunchiness in the layers. Using whole crushed graham crackers works better than the store-bought graham cracker crumbs also. My 14.4 oz. box came with three cellophane packs of graham crackers and one pack was the perfect amount. Do not press the crumbs firmly in the pan or you will have a hard crust. A light pat is all you need. The bake time of 6 minutes as stated in the recipe is perfect for the crust. I used a whole jar (17 oz.) of Mrs. Richardson's Caramel Topping, which is my favorite, just remember to save some to drizzle over each cut piece. It will take several hours to firm up so I suggest freezing overnight. My husband loves this recipe and gives this a five star! I also took it to work and one of the guys wouldn’t let me leave without sharing the recipe. Well loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Super but as everyone says very sweet and rich. Next time I might eliminate the carmel and add another block of cream cheese. I made it in a 9x13 pan and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
If there were more stars for the rating, I would have clicked on more! I have prepared this recipe twice for guests and they have loved it... I substituted the regular graham crackers with fat free one, butter for 'I can't believe it's not butter-Lite', cream cheese for 1/3 less fat, regular condensed milk with fat free, whipped topping for Lite, and the caramel topping with fat free.....and surprisingly, it was delicious. Did I say 'Delicious'? My husband and I are into healthy eating, but do enjoy a nice dessert and I was able to decrease the calories by more than 200 per serving. I can still taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu0523

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
TO DIE FOR! I made this for the butterscotch lovers in my family. They went crazy! My brother in law showed up at my house with the ingredients and begged me to make it for him again. Only changed the caramel to butterscotch, caust thats our prefrence. TOO GOOD! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This is amazing! And judging by the ingredients, anyone that does not have a sweet tooth should not even try it! It's very rich but I couldn't stay out of it! It was super easy to assemble. To make sure the caramel sauce doesn't stick to the sides, pour it away from the sides of the pan. It will eventually spread all over. I didn't have any pecans around, but it tasted great without that addition. I even didn't have any oats, so I ended up using a package of instant oatmeal! This dessert is very versatile to suit your tastes! Maybe I'll try chocolate sauce next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langenburg, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
OMG! Over-the-top delicious! Please DO use any and all non- or low-fat ingredients you can because you won't be able to tell much difference. I certainly hope that you like SWEET when you make this because it is decadently that! Just follow the directions and give it plenty of time to set (at least 8 hours). The caramel sauce just slowly oozes out, just as if to dare you! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This went over quite well when we had company last night. Might be a tad too sweet for some palates, but no one at my house left much on his/her plate! Note: I froze this for 4+ hours, and it still wasn't set as much as it should have been. I'll definitely make it a day ahead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States