Butter Brickle Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
If you are old enough to remember the "Pillsbury" Butter Brickle cake from the 70's, you know that this cake tastes nothing like it. The cake was dry and the icing too rich. Even with Heath bars crumbled up in the icing...it just didn't taste like the Butter Brickle cake I remembered when I was much younger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
This was my first experience baking a cake from scratch and it was great! I made it for my husband's birthday & he loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This is GREAT! I've made this several times for different occassions and its always a hit! -I cut it into bite sized pieces and put them into little cupcake cups on a tray -that way none gets wasted b/c some people think its too sweet. I've also ground up some hazlenuts and pecans and sprinkled them over the top when it is still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Used as a cake with fresh strawberries and whipped cream, one of my favorite desserts! Has a wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
It's a nice change from other cakes. Not too sweet, kinda dense and crumbly though. I was hoping for more of a moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This cake is absolutely delicious. It was easy to make and turned out perfectly. The texture was very soft and moist. I would recommend this cake strongly to everyone, even if it's your first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Good cake for something a little different. I added 3oz cream cheese and toffee bits to the batter. I baked mine as a bundt at 350 for 55 minutes. Be sure to grease and flour the pan really well if you make the bundt, mine still stuck a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Well, there went the diet... I couldn't stop eating this thing! Never had a Butter Brickle cake before. Thankfully, curiosity made me try it. SOOO GOOD!!! I did add a bag of Heath Toffee bits to the batter (saved some for the glaze). And for the glaze, I forgot to add in the evaporated milk, but it was still wonderful. (Halfway melted some of the toffee bits into the glaze, and then sprinkled some more toffee bits on the top, for aesthetics). **UPDATE: These do not translate well into cupcakes**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this cake for my brothers birthday, with the Best Buttercream Frosting from this site also. Unbelivable!!! The cakes has great flavor and moist. For the frosting it went very well with the cake. I followed another review to beat the sugar and butter mix for 15 min. to break down the grain of the sugar what a difference. Its a Keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Delicious! Next time I'll add toffee bits to the batter and on top of the icing. It was also pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States