Butter Brickle Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Didn't like it. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Good cake for something a little different. I added 3oz cream cheese and toffee bits to the batter. I baked mine as a bundt at 350 for 55 minutes. Be sure to grease and flour the pan really well if you make the bundt, mine still stuck a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Very good recipe, very moist, and perfectly sweet. I added 1/3 cup of cream cheese to the cake batter. I didn't use the glaze on the recipe, but used a chocolate frosting and topped with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Well, there went the diet... I couldn't stop eating this thing! Never had a Butter Brickle cake before. Thankfully, curiosity made me try it. SOOO GOOD!!! I did add a bag of Heath Toffee bits to the batter (saved some for the glaze). And for the glaze, I forgot to add in the evaporated milk, but it was still wonderful. (Halfway melted some of the toffee bits into the glaze, and then sprinkled some more toffee bits on the top, for aesthetics). **UPDATE: These do not translate well into cupcakes**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this cake for my brothers birthday, with the Best Buttercream Frosting from this site also. Unbelivable!!! The cakes has great flavor and moist. For the frosting it went very well with the cake. I followed another review to beat the sugar and butter mix for 15 min. to break down the grain of the sugar what a difference. Its a Keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
If you are old enough to remember the "Pillsbury" Butter Brickle cake from the 70's, you know that this cake tastes nothing like it. The cake was dry and the icing too rich. Even with Heath bars crumbled up in the icing...it just didn't taste like the Butter Brickle cake I remembered when I was much younger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Entirely yummy! However, I did have to make more icing. But a great cake - my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This cake had a really funny aftertaste to it and was way to rich to anyone in my family to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I made this cake for my brother's birthday, but I didn't use the icing recipe included with the cake. That might explain why the cake was not quite as moist as I would have liked. Instead I used a buttercream frosting that I got from the website. I will probably make the cake again but will go with the original icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
crushed Skor/Heath bars on top a MUST. I added half a bag of butterscotch chips to the batter which gave it more dimension. frosting had real nice flavor. served this as a birthday cake at a small gathering and got rave reveiws! I baked it in a 12" round and it took way longer than 20 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States