Butter Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was really not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I put this in the crockpot early with some stir fry meat I got on the cheap at the commissary. About 2 hours before it was done I added 8 oz of sliced mushrooms. I did need to add some salt at the end but this was really good. My so picky husband said I could do this again. I served over rice. So simple with 3 ingredients (4 if you add mushrooms) and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Cooked exactly as written, it is wonderful. I have to fight my men to keep them out of the crock pot until the meal is ready because they steal a taste every chance they get. I usually use some of the liquid from the crock pot combined with water to cook the rice (ummm, it's not healthy but it's really good), or serve it over noodles. Sometimes I'll add a couple of squirts of ketchup (just a little--don't want to taste the ketchup) and it seems to change up the flavor just a little. This is great just as written, but it can also be tweaked a thousand ways. One of my top ten recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Was in the slow cooker too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Nice flavor but would be too dry as written. I added 1 cup of beef broth and most of the meat was wonderfully tender, but the few pieces that weren't covered by the broth were dry. I added cornstarch at the end to thicken then served over noodles. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I had a beef cross-cut hind shank and was looking for a way to cook it as I had never prepared this cut of meat before. This recipe created a magical gravy that my family practically drank by itself. I prepared the dish in my slow-cooker and added some beef stock (for extra sauciness), garlic, parsley, mushrooms and a few chopped onions. I used the Beefy Lipton Onion Soup mix. I served the beef & gravy ladled over twice-baked mashed potatoes. HUGE hit in my house, and the beef was melt-in-your-mouth tender. If you have never cooked a hind shank I highly recommend it for the slow-cooker, as it is inexpensive and delicious. Will certainly add this recipe to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
was ok needed some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Not bad, but awfully rich (duh, what did I expect with 1/2 cup of butter in the recipe?!). It wasn't as flavorful as I had expected from reading the reviews. A bit too salty. In short, it wasn't good enough to justify the substantial fat and calorie load.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This recipe is a delicious favorite that we come back to over and over again! To cut out the msg do like we do, use just a stick of butter, a few tablespoons of dehydrated onion, and high quality salt. It tastes every bit as yum. Your family will thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Really good over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States