Butter Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I've made this twice now. The first time I followed the recipe to the letter and found it decent but knew the recipe had potential with a little tweaking. The second time, I did the following things to snaz it up: seasoned the beef with kosher salt, fresh cracked pepper, and garlic powder, browned the beef before adding it to the slow cooker, sauted 2 cups sliced mixed mushrooms and 1 onion sliced in the beef drippings before adding them to the slow cooker, deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of red wine and added that also to the slow cooker, used 1/2 unsalted and 1/2 salted butter and then used low-salt soup mix to avoid all the saltiness. I serve it over either egg noodles or mashed potatoes. It is now much requested in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
703 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
5+++++!! Great flavor - this is the second time I've made it and the first time was exactly as written and it was great that way. After reading other reviews I decided to do a bit of tampering - browning beef first, adding mushrooms, garlic and onions and a bit of red wine. Oh my! It's even better. Also towards the end I added a packet of beef gravy to thicken it up. Was lovely over mashed potatoes. Will be making this again...and again...and... : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
What a FANTASTIC treat!! Made the house smell divine!!! I used a 1.5 lb London broil (cut into cubes) and 3/4 cup butter, added a 4-oz can of unsalted mushroom pieces, and one finely chopped leek, and the one envelope of dry onion soup mix - like the recipe states. Served over white rice and with minted peas on the side. This was the most tender beef I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was so good! I followed the recipe and added 1/2 chopped onion, 1 garlic clove diced, I browned the meat with seasoning (Adobo) and Worcestershire sauce. De-lish! Definitely a keeper and so EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This is a great recipe. I make this often, and it disappears fast. I sometimes use a beef roast and after it is done cooking, shred the beef, put it back in the crock pot with all the "gravy" and let it simmer for about another 5 minutes. This makes it extra moist, when sometimes in a crock pot the portion of meat not submerged in liquid can get over cooked. I serve mine over my whipped potatoes. I am not a potato eater, but I will eat them with this wonderful beef on top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I did it like others, cut the butter to 1.4 cup, but floured the beef with about seasoned flour, cumin, garlic, dash of nutmeg and a little all saltfree table seasoning, then browned it off in a little olive oil and then used one large onion diced and sweated in the beef pan, then diced mushrooms, 1 cup of burgandy wine to deglaze the pan and all into the slow cooker with some worchester a little more garlic spice and some pepper, then a packet of brown gravy mix and 1/cup of water.. Lovely easy quick sort of beef burgandy flavor. Serving it with some mash potatos..and fresh peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Wonderful recipe - I made it "as is", but I used a packet of Roasted Garlic Onion Soup mix instead... I served it over a bed of Jasmine Rice - and it was a HUGE hit! I am REALLY looking forward to making this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Very tasty and so simple. I used a kilo or so of what we call gravy beef. I added a little extra butter, some garlic, couple of carrots and an onion. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
mad this last night, secret let the beef cook a long time.I added sour creme to my noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My family loves this recipe and every friend I have given it to loves it also. So simple but so good. We serve over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States