Butter Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These were pretty good, but I need to work on the seasoning because they were a little bland. I used green onions and replaced the jalapenos with green chilis. I also used bread crumbs in place of the saltines. After I made the patties, I coated the outside in more bread crumbs mixed with parmesean cheese and then baked as others suggested. If nothing else they made me realize that I really like butter beans! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
expected fairly plain - my mistake - 1/2 with chilli 1/2 without, both were good - do try, you'll be impressed too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These were better than expected and my 4 year old loved them! Followed recipe except eliminated jalapeno pepper and used fresh bread crumbs in lieu of crackers. Next time I may add bell pepper in place of jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
These were really nice. Minor changes made after reading other reviews: Used a clove of fresh garlic, 1/4 cup Italian breadcrumbs. After shaping I patted more bread crumbs on patties and refrigerated for a few hours. No issues with patties falling apart. My son said it tasted like mashed potato (that wasn't a complaint). Very mild flavor which can be suited according to one's own taste. Will certainly be making these again. Perhaps will try baking them next time as I don't like to fry - that was the only reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 5. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
These were ok. They really needed more salt than I put in and something else since they were kind of bland. When I make these again I'll add more garlic powder, salt, and then maybe some onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Very cool, I love burgers not made from soy, quorn, or some other fake stuff but you don't come across them often. I can never exactly follow a recipe exactly but this one I did with all the same ingredients minus the measuring cup. It turned out great except just a little too oily. I used olive oil, safflower oil, and sesame oil to flavor. Still great, but I think next time I may brush it with oil and take the recommendation of baking it instead of frying. I am also anxious to see how the frozen ones turn out. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Don't know what I did wrong, but this mixture fell apart in my skillet. I used black beans in an attempt to make it look more like real burgers. In a last ditch effort to salvage the mix, added 1 1/2 t. chili powder and 1/2 t. cumin, and served it in soft tortillas. It tasted OK but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My family did not like these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I used garbanzo beans for my batch (am vegetarian) and ground turkey for my husband. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe to use as a guide. I changed the ingredients to match our taste and what was on hand. My wife loved them! Here is what I changed. The rest was the same: 1 can chick peas (butter beans) 1/2 tsp of onion powder (fresh) 3 Tbls Italian bread crumbs (saltines) 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper (jalepeno) 1/4 cup olive oil (veg. oil) I cooked them in a non stick skillet with just 2 tbls of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States