Butter Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2001
Mmmmmmmmmm!!! Nice texture, soft and sweet buttery cookies that will melt in your mouth. I really liked this cookies, extremely easy and non-time consuming. I divided the dough into two pieces and rolled one batch in coarsely chopped pecans and the other in gourmet white sugar. They looked beautiful, just be careful NOT to handle this cookies until they have completely cooled, or they will crumble in your very hands. Very good recipe, thanks for sharing!!! Moshi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I skipped the nuts and put the dough in the fridge overnight. I rolled the dough into about 30 balls. I rolled half of the balls in sugar that is two different shades of green (light and dark). I rolled the other half in a cinnamon-sugar blend, then rolled them again in red sugar. They look really pretty and have a wonderful, buttery taste. One drawback-they are slightly crumbly-but not so much that you'd be worried about carrying them to someone's house (I wouldn't mail them though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These were good. I made several different cookies for a Christmas party and wanted to make these for my boss b/c she doesn't eat eggs. She and everyone else loved them. I made them again for Christmas day but used unsalted butter b/c thats what I had. I must say they tasted better with salted butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These are great... so easy, little mess, nice texture, good flavor. Tip: Toast your nuts it's worth the extra time (350 for 10 mins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Awesome! Just like I remembered from being a little girl. The perfect balance of sweetness. Mine weren't crumbly at all...I followed the recipe exactly as written...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
very nice! easy and quick to make, taste is just right! I left the pecans out and din't have confectioners sugar, so i rolled the steaming hot butter balls in sugar mixed with cinnamon, left them in there a bit so the sugar really sticks to the hot butter balls. did make the first time only half the batter. Tomorrow a whole batch goes out to my husbands work....it is that good! well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are delicious. I first toasted the pecans (350 degrees for 10 minutes) then chopped them fine in my food processor. I didn't have a problem with crumbling so this may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good recipe and easy to follow. i don't consider myself a baker and found this to be very simple and delicious. Bringing to a cookie exchange tonight I will see what everybody else thinks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe was very easy to complete. However, it only indicates to use butter. Thus, my confusion. So, I made two batches: in one I used margarine and the other real butter. I tend to use real butter while baking but was just not sure with this recipe. I found that the margarine tasted better and was less dry and flaky. Overall, very good tasting either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to match my Granny's, which I lost long ago, and she is long gone. This one tasted EXACTLY like hers. Very pleased, and relieved that an heirloom recipe can once again be passed down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Clemons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States