Butter Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I've been making these cookies since I was a kid. I lost my recipe and was glad to find it here. These cookies are great with coffee, tea, hot cocoa...DO NOT use anything other than butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I decided on this recipe to use up pecans I had for something else. I HATE pecans, so these were to be made for a cookie exchange. Of course, I still needed to sample my work after baking and holy cow - these are AWESOME!! I swear I don't like nuts, but I couldn't stop eating these cookies. To me, the pecans added more of a richness along with the butter than a pure nutty flavor. Next time I'm going to try making them in a longer biscotti-ish shape for eating with my morning coffee. Needless to say, these stayed home with me, and I made something else for the cookie exchange:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Super easy and super good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Everyone said they were the best snowball they had ever had - I made them the size of a golf ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Great recipe!!! My Family and I had fun making them and they tasted absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very good recipe. Just like a recipe that my mother has been making for Christmas for years and years. They really do melt in your mouth. I do add a couple of teaspoons of pure vanilla to the creamed butter/sugar. And I like to chop the nuts very fine so they almost become a part of the dough with little bits to chew on. Make sure that you let the cookies cool fully before tossing them in the confectioners sugar, otherwise you will end up with more of a glaze on the cookie. I use a zip lock bag for the confectioners sugar and do about 3-4 cookies each time. Lastly, I like to make the cookies bite size so that they are a delicious little one bite. Yummy and a classic. Everyone loves these......Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good recipe and easy to follow. i don't consider myself a baker and found this to be very simple and delicious. Bringing to a cookie exchange tonight I will see what everybody else thinks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is pretty much the same recipe as Robin McCraw's almond cookies, this is half of her recipe. Except the nuts.. I did use half white wheat flour(was short on all-purpose), and added 1 tsp vanilla. So good and easy to make! I will make them with half AP flour and half white wheat(at least it would make them a little healthy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used walnuts since that is what I had. They taste really good, but I like my cookies softer these are not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Grandma's revenge! I needed a butter ball recipe for traditions sake. I knew my dad would want to see one on the cookie tray. Holy Comoly...these were worth it. I never even knew I liked butter balls. Hint: make the balls small. They rise:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States