Butter Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This recipe was so simple, I thought they'd be boring, but they actually have a really nice, delicate flavour. I've made 4-5 batches now, and they've never stayed int he shape of balls though, they spread out quite a bit, so make sure you leave room on the pan for that. I also made one recipe without rolling them in the sugar and they were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Delicious and easy to make, I am definately making these again. It is also a simple recipe to add your own variation to, such as nuts or spices, I added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I made a small batch of these tonight, on a baked goods craving. They turned out great! I rolled them in brown sugar and then cinnamon, instead of white and brown sugar. They were just cooked enough at 10-11 minutes that even when they cooled, they were still nice and soft. It's nice to find a cookie I can easily make w/o an electric mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Considering how easy these were to make and with so few ingredients, I was delightfully surprised with how these turned out. I followed the recipe as written and they do in fact hold their ball shape for the most part when baked. They held up well over several days in a ziploc bag. They weren't what I'd call sinfully good, but definitely worthy of 4 stars in part due to how easy they are to make and that you're likely to have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very yummy cookies! I used the coffee icing also found on this website and the two combined made a delicious treat. Not sure if I will have any left to share with the family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Nice, easy recipe. Replaced flour with whole wheat flour and brown sugar with Splenda brand brown sugar. Cookies are a light not too sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
These were great. I added a cup of chocolate chips and the kids loved them. They didn't spread and were very chewy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ringling, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Very easy to make and delicious! My 4yo daughter loved rolling them into balls and around the sugars. They turned out great to my surprise since I was out of butter and had to use stick margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
these turned out to be surprisingly good! of course, mine did not turn out looking like the default recipe photo uploaded though. i think the photo is what scared me off and made me think they wouldn't be any good. lol anyways, they turned out great and there was no need to alter the recipe to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by na0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
It was only okay for me. Found them simple in flavour and boring. I will add chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States