Butt Stompin' Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
The sauce was sweet, delicious, and hot all rolled up in one. It was wonderful on ribs. Absolutely the best I have had on pork ribs. I loved it. Its a keeper. Easily becoming a family recipe for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail A. Guild
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This sauce is terrific, with just enough heat to make it addictive! I was unable to find fresh habanero peppers so I used dried ones. The only mistake I made was to puree everything at the end since I was after a smooth basting sauce for baby back ribs. The aeration from the blender made the sauce lose it's slick, rich color, so I won't do that again. I will probably just dice the onion much smaller next time. These are not for the faint-hearted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Based on what I had on hand I had to alter the recipe a bit and it came out sensational. Didn't have any chili sauce so I subbed with two cans of tomato paste. No pineapple either, so I used a jar of pineapple marmalade. Red pepper flakes in lieu of the habanero, soy and hoisin sauce were added in just because I felt like it. Amazing sauce and thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by TARAWVU
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Thank you, TimSue. This is the best barbecue sauce ever. It tastes just like the Buckeye Barbecue sauce from Quaker Steak and Lube. I followed the directions as best I could. I couldn't find any habenero peppers so I just used habenero sauce. As one reviewer suggested, I added some liquid smoke and instead of crushed pineapple and pineapple juice, used pineapple sauce!! I also did add a lot more hot sauce simply b/c I wanted a really hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Yikes! This is hot and good! I would cut back a little on the heat next time, but the flavor is fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly, cooking it a little longer to thicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
No habenero pepper so I omitted it. I have two kids I fed this sauce to, so I wanted to be a little cautious. I did add one teaspoon of Liquid Smoke. I made no other changes or substitutions. I made this sauce yesterday and let it set in the fridge overnight before using it on barbeque chicken today. Very, very sweet. My kids really liked this (my oldest boy especially) but my husband and I were on the fence. For my husband and I, it was just a little too sweet. I think it could use a little more garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I didn't love this recipe. I would decrease the amount of onion & I found the ingredients expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pleasenthankyou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Excellent!! I did not add the crushed pineapple as I didn't have any. I also didn't have the habanaro pepper but substituted a small can of diced chili and added a few dashes of habanero sauce. This will be a regular barbeque sauce in our house. Thanks timsue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Great sauce spicy, and sweet. I have made this sauce several times and really enjoy it. I like to cook it longer as it tends to be a little watery if you follow the recommended time. You might also want to throw it in a blended as it tends to have a salsa consistency if you don't (but my girlfriend prefers it unblended)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Alchohol smell and taste was strong and it was very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States