Busy Night Turkey Taco Soup with Avocado Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
What a wonderful idea! I thought this soup was fabulous and even better as leftovers. I did not have mexican corn so I used one can of regular corn and 1/2 tblp of taco seasoning. (I also omitted the beans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I have been making this soup every week since Thanksgiving! I love it! I usually leave out any meat and just add whatever veggies I have on hand, frozen or fresh. With the chicken broth and salsa base, you can pretty much do whatever you want to it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This is my first review even though I've enjoyed many recipes on this site. I can't emphasize how good this soup was. It made me look good on Christmas Day and was by far the favorite of the five soups that were offered. As others have said, it's amazing that there is so much flavor with so little preparation time and simmering. My own "tweaks" of the recipe included using those pre-cooked fajita chicken strips that are in the freezer aisle at most stores. Also, I used half hot salsa and half mild, and it was the ideal level of being warm/spicy without leaving you grabbing for the ice water or being unable to taste other food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I diced corn tortillas in with it; I had no corn on hand...WOW this was delicious! SO flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I made this soup last night, and I looooved it! It was so good! I used medium salsa, to spice it up a little, and it was perfect! Very, very good! I would make this even if I didn't have leftover turkey. My husband liked it, but asked me to make it with chicken next time and make it spicier. I would definitely recommend this soup...and it was so easy and quick to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This is a great way to use up those Thanksgiving leftovers! The salsa makes this a very warming soup. I did not make the avocado cream, as we are watching our calories, and of course it was still an excellent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This was a great way to use up my leftover turkey. I didn't have alot of things on hand so I improvised and it still came out good. I didn't have cilantro or chili beans so I used garlic and black beans in a carribean sauce and the family loved it. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This soup was awesome!!! I served this to company and it went over big everyone was wanting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
GREAT SOUP! I have made this soup 3 times now. Twice with turkey and it was wonderful and once with beef. When I used beef I supstituted one can chicken broth to one can beef broth. It is awesome both ways. My husband loves it. I have used Medium and hot salsa. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe, a nice treat from the typical turkey left overs. I used a medium salsa that gave it some zip. Very easy to make and quick. I did find adding the avocado mixture and serving it with the tortilla chips made it even better. Thanks for sharing an awsome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States