Busy Night Turkey Taco Soup with Avocado Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Good quick weeknight dinner. I cooked this in the crockpot. Added half a green pepper and used frozen corn instead of canned. Loved the "avocado cream"! It was good as a dip for tortilla chips also. Cilantro was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
FANTASTIC! I made this soup for my husband (a CPT in the Army) after an 18-hour day outside in the freezing rain. He said this should be the official soup of the 101st Airborne Division. It is his new favorite soup and he would eat the whole pot if I let him. It is great to make after the holidays to use up the leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I thought this was OK but I think it needs some work. I made it exactly as directed except that instead of cooking on the stove for 10 minutes, I put it in a crockpot for about 6 hrs. And I used homemade turkey broth instead of canned chicken broth. My husband liked it a lot however and saved the leftovers for lunches. If I make it again, I think I'd saute some onions first and then add a bit of cumin. The guac & sour cream dollop was a nice touch though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Made this the weekend after Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! Great use for leftover turkey that doesn't taste like leftover turkey. Didn't make the guacamole, (trying to be good after pigging out at Thanksgiving)and the soup was very good with out it. Will make this all winter with chicken or the rest of the frozen Thanksgiving turkey. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This soup is very good, very simple and very adaptable. I used chicken instead of turkey. My children even liked it. Anything I can get them to eat is a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: California, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This was very easy and yummy. Instead of turkey I used a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. All my kids loved it. For those of you with picky kids who don't like 'chunks' blend the salsa in blender before adding. (I always do this to my salsa and there are no tomato or pepper chunks left behind by picky kids.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This soup is easy to make and full of flavor. Tasted like it had simmered all day, just as Janice said. I didn't have cilantro but that didn't stop the clan from licking their bowl clean! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Good quick meal to make when you are tired and it's cold outside. I substituted canned garbanzo beans for the corn and left out the avocado cream because of the fat. It was very good last night and even better today for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Very delicious and easy! My husband says we'll have to cook another turkey now so we can make the soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Excellent soup!! Great idea for left over turkey. My husband loved it so much I had to make another batch. This is so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States