Busy Night Turkey Taco Soup with Avocado Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
We used chicken instead of turkey, because that's what we had on hand. This soup was just a little bland for our taste, probably needs some taco seasoning to spice it up, and I will use that next time. It was good and simple, and we ate it with cornbread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was really delish! I doubled the recipe and added one pack of Mahatma Spanish Rice. Everyone in the house loved it and it was very comforting during a rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Dear Janice, I hope you realize that you can package and sell this and be sooo successful!!!!! This soup alone would keep me coming back to whatever restaurant served it- it's THAT DARN GOOD!! Super easy and so impressive, I can hardly believe it! My husband LOVED every last bite of it, too. I added all the toppings everyone has mentioned (in addition to the avocado cream): shredded cheese, crushed tortilla chips, cilantro, and green onions. This was heavenly. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
My husband travels in his business and has gotten to the point of hating to eat out; however, when he orderd something called taco soup, he asked if we could find that recipe. He said he never enjoyed a soup like this one! It sounded wonderful to me, so not a week later we chose this one because it was both QUICK and EASY to make. Instead of turkey, I purchased canned Turkey and after the soup was served in the bowls, I added tacto strips (taco chips made into strips for dipping). Everyone and his uncle loved this soup! the taco strips even helped scoop up the soup as it cooled down and thickened up a bit. Also, I purchased more sour cream than I needed, so I combined all of the guacomole container with all of the sour cream, and we had a 'dip' for the left over chips. There was NO left over soup! My husband, who is NOT a big eater, had about four helpings at dinner and then nibbled all night long until it was gone. He wants me to make MORE tomorrow! and this is a man who does NOT like leftovers...and a man who does NOT want to eat the same thing more than twice a month. this is a KEePER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I make this soup at least once a week, and have never had better reviews from my family! The mix so nicely, and it is so fast and easy! One of my favorite recipies ever! My father doesn't like turkey, so instead I use chicken. I buy the whole, already cooked chicken from the super market, and instead of cubing the chicken, I serve the soup with pulled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Best way I've ever found to use up leftover turkey! The only changes I made were to use frozen corn and black beans, and let it simmer for about an hour. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This soup is wonderful. I used two packages of the pre-cooked chunk chicken (southwestern flavor) and added some crushed tortilla chips. EVERYONE loved this, including my Mom who is a very good cook! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was great...way better than I expected since it was so easy! I used 1 lb ground turkey & browned it with spicy taco seasoning. Since I wasn't quite sure what "chili beans" were, I used pinto beans, and it's just divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT SOUP!! I HATE GUACOMOLE, SO OBVIOUSLY I DIDNT USE THAT. AND I USED ONLY ALF A CAN OF BEANS. ALSO I MADE MINE IN THE CROCK POT THE NIGHT BEFORE. LET IT RUN FOR LIKE 2 HOURS THEN LET IT COOL, PUT IT IN THE FRIDGE OVERNIGHT AND HEATED BACK UP WHEN IT ATE IT FOR DINNER. GREAT QUICK MEAL FOR LATE NIGHT DINNERS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Fantastic! My husband and his friend kept going back for more. This recipe is so easy and the taste was out of this world. I used 1 pound ground turkey meat and used 1 package of taco seasoning mix while browning it. After the turkey was done, I literally just dumped the rest of the ingredients in and waited. I topped it off with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream and blue corn tortilla chips. I did not have guacamole on hand, but I will definetely try it next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States