Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I've made this receipe numerous times - it really is the perfect busy day meal. To keep the bird out of the liquid that accummulates on the bottom of the slow cooker during cooking, make 3 "balls" out of tinfoil, and place them in the slow cooker first. Then, set the bird on top of the balls (which lifts the bird off the bottom of the slow cooker). Cover in BBQ sauce. Cook 10 hours on low. I use this method to cook whole birds all the time, using a variety of seasonings (not just BBQ sauce). It's fantastic. Plus, the bird is easy to debone and the leftover meat (which freezes well) can be used in a plethora of ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Loved it! I used chicken breasts instead and they turned out super moist. These were great shredded in sandwiches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
this was very easy and tasted good. i used a whole chicken, cut up already. i left the skin on half and took the skin off of the other half. i added salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder before covering with bbq sauce (i used about half a bottle because that's all i had - i also rinsed the bottle with a little water to get the rest out). the chicken was a bit dry so next time i will cook it for a little less time. it also needed a lot more salt. i served it over white rice. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
chicken came right off the bone! Tasty. coulda been more tasty, but next time i'll cut into it a bit and add more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupe Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
So yummy. I cooked it last night. I keep sneaking some. I did change things. I added half a bottle honey mustered and the BBQ and added water and put salt and pepper and garlic to it. This recipe was easy and gave me some ideals. I will cook again. If I have some left I will put on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We really enjoyd this. I followed the other reviews and balled up foil and placed the chicken on top of it. We used an entire bottle of honey BBQ sauce (store brand) and drenched the inside and out of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The chicken did fall off the bone, but it was not that tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My boyfriend really liked this recipe, but I thought the flavour was so-so. We used 3/4 of a bottle of Diana's sauce, and slow cooked for 8 hours. I followed the advice of others and put a little bit of water and elevated the chicken using balls of aluminium foil. I don't think the water was necessary since I think the chicken would submerged in sauce and fat anyway. I usually don't like slow cooking meats because they usually come out really fatty and oily unless you drain it regularly. Since I was at work, I couldn't do that. But despite all of this, I thought it was really easy and pretty good. I think next time I'll try a BBQ sauce with a stronger flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy and good! I used boneless chicken breasts and added water as well. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was mediocre at best. To be fair, I did change things a bit. I am awarding 3 *'s due to my 1 major change (but honestly, this is only deserving of 2). Drumsticks were on sale, so I used those instead of a whole bird. In retrospect, I really wish I would have tried suessinimi's recipe as is, but for fear of my chicken drying out, I didn't (a good dose of common sense & others warnings about meat drying out as it cooked all day scared me off). I think the BBQ sauce slathered in the chicken's cavity would have made for some AWESOME tasting meat (assuming it remained moist). My chicken, although not dry, was totally unappealing. If it weren't for me & my hubby being HUNGRY, we'd probably not have even eaten what was in the crockpot. My biggest gripe? Although I used an entire (regular sized) bottle of BBQ sauce (K.C. Masterpiece hickory), my chicken wasn't saucy at all! It's as if the sauce evaporated & left a burnt smelling crust behind. I guess removing the skin from my chicken wasn't such a good idea after all.... My advice? Add H2O w/ your BBQ sauce (and lots of it, especially if you're going to leave this to cook all day) & DON'T remove the skin from your bird! Served w/ all the BBQ fixins, this was an "OK" meal. I certainly wouldn't make this again unless "as directed" & I were home all day to monitor the sc (which kinda defeats the purpose of using one to begin with, IMHO) so I probably won't be attempting this again for that very reason. Thanks for sharing tho! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States