Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I put the two large split chicken breasts in the slow cooker, covered them with the barbecue sauce and added about a cup or two of water to the bottom and let it go for 8-9 hours like directed. When I pulled it out I picked all the skin and bones out, shredded it up with a fork and added more barbecue sauce and mixed it all up, served it with garlic toast, baked beans, and baked fries-- wonderful meal! I wouldn't overdo it with the barbecue sauce in the cooker, it's a waste because the chicken doesn't absorb it very much of the sauce anyways so I suggest adding more after it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Love this recipe, will definitely do it again! I did it with a whole, skinless chicken and put some water in the bottom of the pot, then added the chicken and poured the BBQ sauce on top. It set in the pot for 8 hours, but when I went to pull it out it was so tender that it completely fell apart! I would recommend doing this with boneless chicken! Regardless, it was still a huge hit in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I tried this one for the first time and my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Firefighter13646

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sackets Harbor, New York, USA
Living In: Hammond, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
So very easy and versatile. This gives you an entire chicken to reinvent multiple ways throughout the week with very little effort involved. I do recommend sticking to the recommended cooking times. Mine did get a little dry, but it was my fault for cooking it too long. I used Stubbs Original BBQ sauce. I served it the first night with mashed potatoes and corn. Still had enough leftovers to reinvent it into chicken enchiladas one night and chicken tortilla soup another night. I used the “Chicken Tortilla Soup I” recipe by Star Pooley found on this site. Highly recommend it if you have leftover chicken, especially with the sweet and spicy tang of this chicken cooked in Stubbs sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bruce, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was so simple it is hard not to like. Although it seems like every time I make chicken in the crockpot it comes out kind of mealy no matter what the recipe. Must just be the result of slow cooker chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Super, easy, delicous, meal. I used 1/2 of a 28oz bottle of Kraft Honey Barbeque Sauce and equaled the same amount of water to rinse out the bottle and remaining sauce. This I added to the slow cooker due to previous comments about dryness and I also peeled back the skin to expose the meat. I had a super huge whole chicken weighing 6.6 lbs which almost did not fit in the slow cooker. Chicken fell off the bone and was super moist and delicous. Served with bisquits to sop up the yummy juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made this for my husband and kids. They all thought it was great! My husband liked that it was barbeque without being overly barbeque. I did add some garlic and pepper and a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Just two ingredients, but wow - so delicious! To make this into a whole meal, I put chunks of potato and slices of onion underneath the chicken. I seasoned them with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and paprika. Then I poured the sauce over the potatoes and the chicken and added half a cup of water. I cooked on high for eight hours and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Sorry, but this just wasn't very good- it came out very dry- I assume the timing is too long with that, but it definitely needs something else to flavor.- maybe onions, seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as directed, using our favorite BBQ sauce and cooking for 9 hrs on low. The chicken did fall off the bone, but was dry and did not taste very good ( it was bland ). I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States