Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Who would have thought bbq chicken in a slow cooker? Had to cut the chicken into quarters to fit in my slow cooker. Also adjusted the seasoning to suit my taste ----added a few generous splashes of Crystal hot sauce, a few shakes of garlic powder,onion powder and liquid smoke. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I had skinless chicken thigh fillets on hand so used those in place of a whole chicken. Cooked for 6.5 hours before turning off cooker. Really haven't ever had an easier delicious dinner. Going into the family favourite file. Thank you for sharing. Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Haven't made this recipe, yet, but I will soon.I rated it on how I think it will be. Hint: to raise meats from the bottom, crumble sheets of aluminum foil and layer in the bottom of the cooker. For light or thin meats, you can use regular foil. For heavier and thicker pieces of meat (such as a whole chicken) use heavy duty foil. It takes practice to know how much foil to use and how thick the layer should be for each type of meat. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was just ok the first time. Too bland and the sauce became more like a broth. So the second time I injected the best part of an entire 20oz bottle of my fav BBQ combo (Yoshida's Grourmet sauce, Chinese Chili sauce and Kraft Honey BBQ with a few additions like Jack Daniels #7 and some molassas and liquid smoke)throughout the bird especially along the major bones and through the flesh. i elevated the bird with a stainless rack (raw potatoes on the feet to keep the rack from cracking the crock when hot).Heaped with raw onions thinly sliced (they are very sweet when cooked) and 1/2 cup white wine in the bottom to start the cooking with 1 c double strengh chicken broth. I've done this with several flavors too - Italian Dressing, Greek Dressing make a great injectable marinade and cooking flavor base as a substitute for the BBQ. A great way to cook a large bird! OR a half of a turkey breast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My mom used to make this for us when we were little. The only difference is she used the whole cut up chicken so she didn't have to pull it apart. Very messy, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Tasty & easy, but a little disappointing if made just as listed. You *do* need to add extra water, BBQ sauce, and seasoning. Elevate the chicken, as one other person recommended. I stuffed the cavity with onions, and added probably 2-3 cups BBQ sauce, with 2 cups water. Also add whatever seasonings you like best on chicken. So easy though, if you're in a hurry and have a chicken thawed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
So easy and absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Simple, Simple, Simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kaplan, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I really like this recipe it was easy and simple and my family loved it. The only thing I added was my own homemade BBQ sauce with a spicy BBQ sauce and it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
this is so good and no work. My husband was telling everyone about it and he usually doesn't rave about any recipe. a must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States