Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was just ok the first time. Too bland and the sauce became more like a broth. So the second time I injected the best part of an entire 20oz bottle of my fav BBQ combo (Yoshida's Grourmet sauce, Chinese Chili sauce and Kraft Honey BBQ with a few additions like Jack Daniels #7 and some molassas and liquid smoke)throughout the bird especially along the major bones and through the flesh. i elevated the bird with a stainless rack (raw potatoes on the feet to keep the rack from cracking the crock when hot).Heaped with raw onions thinly sliced (they are very sweet when cooked) and 1/2 cup white wine in the bottom to start the cooking with 1 c double strengh chicken broth. I've done this with several flavors too - Italian Dressing, Greek Dressing make a great injectable marinade and cooking flavor base as a substitute for the BBQ. A great way to cook a large bird! OR a half of a turkey breast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My mom used to make this for us when we were little. The only difference is she used the whole cut up chicken so she didn't have to pull it apart. Very messy, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Tasty & easy, but a little disappointing if made just as listed. You *do* need to add extra water, BBQ sauce, and seasoning. Elevate the chicken, as one other person recommended. I stuffed the cavity with onions, and added probably 2-3 cups BBQ sauce, with 2 cups water. Also add whatever seasonings you like best on chicken. So easy though, if you're in a hurry and have a chicken thawed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
So easy and absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Simple, Simple, Simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kaplan, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I really like this recipe it was easy and simple and my family loved it. The only thing I added was my own homemade BBQ sauce with a spicy BBQ sauce and it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
this is so good and no work. My husband was telling everyone about it and he usually doesn't rave about any recipe. a must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
REALLY yummy chicken! I had my doubts, but it turned out excellent! I added about a cup to a cup and a half of chicken broth and put some onion and garlic inside the chicken cavity. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I recognize this recipe from the Whole Foods for the Whole Family cookbook-- it has been a fall-back for our family for a long time! Great recipe for busy moms, especially if you're having a fussy baby day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabrinson
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Love this! It so easy...perfect for when I'm running out the door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my4Rmarvy
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States