Busy Day Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
this worked very well. I made by own barbeque sauce instead of using a store bought one. However, I also stuffed two cored and sliced gala apples inside and cut up two more and added to the crock pot. Added a wonderful flavor to the barbeque taste. I know it was good as my 31 year old son and his 6 year old daughter each had second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I love to make recipes healthy but taking off the skin on this chicken left it very dry. The second time I made it I left the skin on and it was fabulous! Also I stuffed the chicken with chopped up apples which really added to the flavor. Mississippi brand BBQ sauce was better than the sweet and tangy. NOTE- you do not have to completely cover the chicken with sauce and water for it to cook. I used one bottle of sauce and then filled that bottle with water and poured it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I use this recipe regularly. I use chicken quarters or whatever is on sale, legs, thighs a combo. I also add a full bottle of bbq sauce and a can of COKE... yes that makes it sweet and not dry at all. Try it, I'm not kidding it's totally worth it. Also I sometimes add some garlic and season salt depending on what type of bbq sauce I"m using. Very easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Super easy and very good. I added 3/4 can of Coke and a large white onion (roughly chopped) to give it some more flavor. I cooked it for 8 hours on low and the chicken was sooooo tender it literally fell off the bone. My one suggestion would be to have another jar of barbecue sauce on hand to add to the chicken if you really want it to have a barbecue flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I also added some additional ingredients as mentioned by previous reviewers. The flavor was good however the chicken came out chewy and almost dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Cammorata
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Super easy way to make a whole chicken. Meat absoutely fell off the bone. There wasn't as much flavor to the meat as I expected but I would try it again this way. Its great to have a meal ready to go at dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was a perfect dish! Fall off the bone and delicious. I served with a green bean cassorole and fresh mashed potatoes. We had enough for 2 meals, for 2 kids and 2 adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was just ok. I added water to help with the dryness, but it still turned out a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I did not like this at all. The texture was not good. i will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was a great recipe. I too used 6 boneless chicken breasts instead of bone-in chicken. I put it in the crockpot on my lunch break. I poured in 1/4 of the bbq sauce, added the chicken, sprinkled some salt, pepper, and garlice powder, and then poured the rest of the bottle in. I added about a cup or so of waterand left it on low for 4 hours. After 4 hours I took it out and the chicken was perfectly cooked, but I decided to chop it out so it would resemble bbq and so it would soak up more of the sauce. I added some more water because it was a little bit on the dry side. I left it on warm until everyone was home for dinner. It was great!! The chicken was very flavorful and moist and had a great texture. It was also so easy! I definitely recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States